Golf Today - Over 80000 pages of golf information
Golf News

The PLAYERS Championship: Field Update

May 04, 2018

The last four qualifiers are Beau Hossler, Tom Hoge, Trey Mullinax and Brandon Harkins, who were selected based on their position in the FedExCup standings through the Zurich Classic in order to complete the field of 144.

If a player wins the Wells Fargo Championship that is not otherwise qualified and/or John Peterson earns enough FedExCup points to equal or exceed 125th place on the FedExCup Points List for the preceding season (237), the last qualifier(s) would become the first alternate(s). Harkins is currently the last man in the field, followed by Mullinax.

The PLAYERS Championship: Field Update

A look at THE PLAYERS Championship 2018 Field:

• 10 past champions: Si Woo Kim (2017), Jason Day (2016), Rickie Fowler (2015), Martin Kaymer (2014), Tiger Woods (2013, 2001), Matt Kuchar (2012), Henrik Stenson (2009), Sergio Garcia (2008), Phil Mickelson (2007), Adam Scott (2004).

• 50 of the top-50 in the FedExCup standings.

• 50 of the top-50 in the Official World Golf Ranking. THE PLAYERS 2018 is the first time each of the top 50 in the Official World Golf Ranking have been in the field at an event since the 2016 U.S. Open.

• 107 PGA TOUR winners for a total of 495 PGA TOUR victories.

• A total of 20 first-time participants.

• Qualified for THE PLAYERS, but not competing are: Graham DeLaet (back), Morgan Hoffmann (muscular dystrophy), Jim Herman (toe), Brandon Hagy (wrist), Luke Donald (back), Camilo Villegas (shoulder) and Seung Yul Noh (military service).

• Of the 144-player field, 50 are from outside the United States.

• Americans have won THE PLAYERS just four times in the last 13 years: Rickie Fowler (2015), Tiger Woods (2013), Matt Kuchar (2012) and Fred Funk (2005). International players have won 11 of the last 16 PLAYERS Championships. A total of 15 international players have won THE PLAYERS in the 44-year history of the event.

• Tiger Woods (2001, 2013), Davis Love III (1992, 2003), Steve Elkington (1991, 1997), Hal Sutton (1983, 2000), Fred Couples (1984, 1996) and Jack Nicklaus (1974, 1976 and 1978) are players with multiple wins at THE PLAYERS Championship.

Current Field:

An, Byeong Hun
Aphibarnrat, Kiradech
Armour, Ryan
Barber, Blayne
Berger, Daniel
Blaum, Ryan
Blixt, Jonas
Bozzelli, Dominic
Bradley, Keegan
Brown, Scott
Bryan, Wesley
Cabrera Bello, Rafa
Campbell, Chad
Cantlay, Patrick
Casey, Paul
Cauley, Bud
Chappell, Kevin
Cink, Stewart
Cook, Austin
Day, Jason
DeChambeau, Bryson
Dufner, Jason
English, Harris
Fathauer, Derek
Finau, Tony
Fisher, Ross
Fitzpatrick, Matthew
Fleetwood, Tommy
Flores, Martin
Fowler, Rickie
Garcia, Sergio
Garnett, Brice
Garrigus, Robert
Gay, Brian
Glover, Lucas
Grace, Branden
Gribble, Cody
Grillo, Emiliano
Haas, Bill
Hadley, Chesson
Hadwin, Adam
Hahn, James
Harkins, Brandon
Harman, Brian
Hatton, Tyrrell
Henley, Russell
Henry, J.J.
Hoffman, Charley
Hoge, Tom
Holmes, J.B.
Horschel, Billy
Hossler, Beau
Howell III, Charles
Hughes, Mackenzie
Huh, John
Johnson, Dustin
Johnson, Zach
Kang, Sung
Kaymer, Martin
Kim, Michael
Kim, Si Woo
Kim, Whee
Kirk, Chris
Kisner, Kevin
Kizzire, Patton
Knox, Russell
Kodaira, Satoshi
Koepka, Brooks
Kokrak, Jason
Kraft, Kelly
Kuchar, Matt
Lahiri, Anirban
Laird, Martin
Landry, Andrew
Lee, Danny
Leishman, Marc
Levy, Alexander
Li, Haotong
Lingmerth, David
List, Luke
Lovemark, Jamie
Lowry, Shane
Martin, Ben
Matsuyama, Hideki
McCarron, Scott
McGirt, William
McIlroy, Rory
Mickelson, Phil
Molinari, Francesco
Moore, Ryan
Mullinax, Trey
Murray, Grayson
Na, Kevin
Noren, Alex
O'Hair, Sean
Ogilvy, Geoff
Oosthuizen, Louis
Palmer, Ryan
Pampling, Rod
Pan, C.T.
Perez, Pat
Piercy, Scott
Points, D.A.
Potter, Jr., Ted
Poulter, Ian
Rahm, Jon
Reavie, Chez
Reed, Patrick
Rodgers, Patrick
Rose, Justin
Sabbatini, Rory
Schauffele, Xander
Schniederjans, Ollie
Schwartzel, Charl
Scott, Adam
Simpson, Webb
Smith, Cameron
Snedeker, Brandt
Spaun, J.J.
Spieth, Jordan
Stallings, Scott
Stanley, Kyle
Steele, Brendan
Stenson, Henrik
Streb, Robert
Streelman, Kevin
Stricker, Steve
Stroud, Chris
Swafford, Hudson
Taylor, Nick
Taylor, Vaughn
Thomas, Justin
Thompson, Michael
Tway, Kevin
Van Aswegen, Tyrone
Varner III, Harold
Vegas, Jhonattan
Walker, Jimmy
Watney, Nick
Watson, Bubba
Werenski, Richy
Willett, Danny
Woodland, Gary
Woods, Tiger

Mitchell, Keith
Stuard, Brian

Rising star McKibbin set for European Tour debut at inaugural Shot Clock Masters

Colin Montgomerie to make Staysure PGA Seniors Championship debut

Golf Son Muntaner leads the way in Europe with revolutionary grass upgrade

Man United Captain Michael Carrick to make BMW PGA Championship debut

Lahinch Golf Club to host 2019 Dubai Duty Free Irish Open

Guy Kinnings to join the European Tour as Deputy CEO & Ryder Cup Director

Pieters boxing clever ahead of Belgian Knockout

Sir Nick Faldo relishing Old course reunion

Rose returns for another shot at Scottish Open title

More news

Otaegui goes the distance in Belgian Knockout

Aaron Wise claims first PGA title at AT&T Byron Nelson

Regions Tradition : Miguel Angel Jiménez wins first senior Major

Latest Official World Golf Ranking

Current European Tour Race to Dubai Standings

Current PGA Tour FedEx Cup Standings

Rickie Fowler, Puma & Arnie Army to honor Arnold Palmer

Sketchers unveil 2018 GO GOLF collection

Michele Thomson promoting Ladies Scottish Open

Grant, Matthew, Reid & Schober qualify for US Women's Open

Linn Grant leading US Open qualifier

LPGA & Dow announce team event in Michigan for 2019

Ariya Jutanugarn wins Kingsmill Championship

More news

© 1996-2018 - Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy - About Us - Advertise - Classifieds - Newsletter - Contact Us