European Tour Golfer of the Year

Decided by a judging panel drawn from all sectors of the golfing media - newspapers, magazines, radio and television - the award was inaugurated in 1985.
It should not be confused with the Association of Golf Writers Trophy, inaugurated in 1951.

Colin Montgmerie Multiple European Golfer of the Year Award winners
In the 21 year history of the Award, Colin Mongomerie has won four times, with four three time winners - Seve Ballesteros, Nick Faldo, Ernie Els and Lee Westwood.
Year European Golfer of the Year
2010 Martin Kaymer & Graeme McDowell (jointly)
2009 Lee Westwood
2008 Padraig Harrington
2007 Padraig Harrington
2006 Paul Casey
2005 Michael Campbell
2004 Vijay Singh
2003 Ernie Els
2002 Ernie Els
2001 Retief Goosen
2000 Lee Westwood
1999 Colin Montgomerie
1998 Lee Westwood
1997 Colin Montgomerie
1996 Colin Montgomerie
1995 Colin Montgomerie
1994 Ernie Els
1993 Bernhard Langer
1992 Nick Faldo
1991 Seve Ballesteros
1990 Nick Faldo
1989 Nick Faldo
1988 Seve Ballesteros
1987 Ian Woosnam
1986 Seve Ballesteros
1985 Bernhard Langer