Past Champions make Major return

26 major champions line up at season opener

The 2019 ANA Inspiration is set for a major field with 26 major champions including every major champion from the last five years and 11 past champions confirmed for Mission Hills Country Club, April 4 – 7.

Defending champion Pernilla Lindberg, who made her major breakthrough last April after a marathon record breaking eight-hole playoff, headlines the list of ten past champions returning to Rancho Mirage with fond memories of Mission Hills Country Club and Poppie’s Pond.

Joining her, in an elite group of players to make the famous leap, is LPGA Tour Hall of Famer and seven-time major champion Inbee Park, World No. 3 So Yeon Ryu, the youngest ever World No. 1, Lydia Ko, ten-time LPGA Tour winner Lexi Thompson and Mission Hills veteran and two-time winner Karrie Webb.

Webb, who is making her 23 rd appearance having finished in the top five on no fewer than eight occasions, is joined by big-hitting American Brittany Lincicome as the only players able to complete a hat-trick of wins with victory on Sunday, April 7th.

World No.1 and two-time major champion, Ariya Jutatugarn, heads the list of champions looking to add the ANA Inspiration to their major haul alongside reigning Women’s British Open winner Georgia Hall, World No. 2 and 2018 Women’s PGA Championship winner, Sung Hyun Park and Angela Stanford, winner of the 2018 Evian Championship.

Speaking about her return, Pernilla Lindberg, said: “Winning the ANA Inspiration was a dream come true and it is certainly a day I will never forget. I cannot wait for the opportunity to defend my title against the best players in the world and I’m especially looking forward to attending the champions’ dinner alongside all of the amazing champions before me.”

Grand slam winner Inbee Park added: “The ANA Inspiration is one of my favorite events of the year and I’m honored to be a part of all of the history at Dinah Shore. As a competitor, you always want to compete against the best players and this year’s field is already looking very strong. If you look down the entry list you see champions from all over the world and I can’t wait to get back to Mission Hills Country Club to tee it up with them.”

In search of her first ANA Inspiration title, Ariya Jutanugarn said: “I really enjoy playing at Mission Hills Country Club as the course really suits my eye. I have finished in the top ten the last three years and have happy memories as an amateur coming to the event so I’m excited to see if I can do even better this year.”

Joining the world’s best players for the week participating alongside the junior talent in the ANA Inspiration Junior Inspiration is three-time ANA Inspiration winner Betsy King, the tournament’s first jumper in to Poppie’s Pond in 1988 Amy Alcott and Pat Bradley, Aunt to former PGA Championship winner, Keegan Bradley.

In keeping with tournament tradition, past champions will be honored at milestone anniversaries of their victory with the below winners being celebrated at the champions dinner.

1979: Sandra Post (40 years)
• 1984 & 1989 : Juli Inkster (30 Years)
• 1992 & 1999 : Dottie Pepper (20 Years)
• 2009 & 2015: Brittany Lincicome (10 Years)

Past Champions in the 2019 field:
• Brittany Lincicome
• Inbee Park
• Karrie Webb
• Lexi Thompson
• Lydia Ko
• Morgan Pressel
• Pernilla Lindberg
• So Yeon Ryu
• Stacy Lewis
• Yani Tseng
• Juli Inkster

Ticket are now on sale for the 2019 ANA Inspiration.

Share this article