South African duo take lead heading into the final day

Home > Tours > DP World Tour > South African duo take lead heading into the final day
Investec South African Open Championship R3
Posted on
December 2, 2023
The Editorial Team in ,
Estimated reading time: 2 minutes

Jayden Schaper signed for a 67 on Saturday at the Investec South African Open Championship to reach 9-under and take a share of the lead alongside fellow South African Ryan van Velzen who carded a 70.

Schaper finished in the top-10 last year and is in his first year on the DP World Tour.

"I have some good memories at this event and also at this golf course," said Schaper. "If you told me this morning, I would have taken it with both hands.

"I'm in a good rhythm, in a good space, everything is just feeling good. I've got a good team behind me and good support and it's always good to be at home.

"I'm going to stick to the same game-plan and keep doing what I'm doing. There's nothing to change so why not just keep it the same and see what happens?"

Van Velzen is playing in his second season on the Sunshine Tour.

"I think I played unbelievably today," he said. "I hit it very good. I played smart golf, didn't go at flags and kept it on the right side of the hole. There was a couple of three-putts but I played very nicely.

"I stayed very patient, I made lots of pars in a row and I was fine with that. I wasn't going to chase birdies to those tough flags because that's how bogeys are made. I just kept it solid.

"It was a lot of fun out there with the crowds following us and the crowds chanting my name, which is cool."

Compatriot Louis de Jager also signed for a 70 to take solo third place at 8-under.

Six players are tied in fourth place at 7-under including South African Dean Burmester (65) and overnight leader Jesper Svensson of Sweden who made two birdies, two bogeys and a double bogey at the par-4 14th for a 74.

Pos.PlayerTo ParR1R2R3
1SCHAPER, Jayden-9707067
VAN VELZEN, Ryan-9726570
3DE JAGER, Louis-8677170
4BURMESTER, Dean-7707465
LAPORTA, Francesco-7697169
SCHMID, Matti-7706871
MANASSERO, Matteo-7686873
RAVETTO, David-7686972
SVENSSON, Jesper-7686774
10PARATORE, Renato-6697170
11DE VILLIERS, Jacques P-5697171
BEKKER, Oliver-5716773
13BEZUIDENHOUT, Christiaan-4687470
SCHWARTZEL, Charl-4727070
LACROIX, Frederic-4696875
BACHEM, Nick-4756671
LAGERGREN, Joakim-4657176
18COCKERILL, Aaron-3727269
LOMBARD, Zander-3717369
DEL REY, Alejandro-3707469
GREEN, Gavin-3727071
SCHOTT, Freddy-3746970
SAMOOJA, Kalle-3697371
NIENABER, Wilco-3727071
BRUINERS, Heinrich-3687372
VEERMAN, Johannes-3717072
REBULA, Jovan-3677373
GERMISHUYS, Deon-3697173
SULLIVAN, Andy-3677274
LANGASQUE, Romain-3696975
JARVIS, Casey-3667077
32NAIDOO, Dylan-2727270
PENGE, Marco-2756871
KRUYSWIJK, Jacques-2727171
VAN ZYL, Jaco-2717271
SOUTHGATE, Matthew-2727171
JAMIESON, Scott-2707173
KO, Jeong weon-2726874
VAN DRIEL, Darius-2697075
FICHARDT, Darren-2707074
41ALBERTSE, Louis-1697472
COUSSAUD, Ugo-1697571
BRADLEY, Sean-1707273
SCHNEIDER, Marcel-1727172
APHIBARNRAT, Kiradech-1746873
LAW, David-1727073
COUVRA, Martin-1746873
WHITNELL, Dale-1746774
PAVAN, Andrea-1707174
BRADBURY, Dan-1717074
LAWRENCE, Thriston-1707174
FRIEDRICHSEN, Sebastian-1697175
DU PLESSIS, Hennie-1687077
FISHER, Ross-1716975
55SADDIER, AdrienPar717273
VAN DER MERWE, Altin (AM)Par727173
ENEFER, WillPar687573
WILLIAMS, RobinPar726975
MORRISON, JamesPar717075
EPSON, HunterPar726876
61SHARMA, Shubhankar+1736975
SMITH, Ethan+1717175
63KOFSTAD, Espen+2717176
TARRIO, Santiago+2756974
65ROTTLUFF, Maximilian+3737175
SMIT, Combrinck+3687675
FILIPPI, Luca+3737175
AHLERS, Jaco+3707277
69SCHWAB, Matthias+4687676
CELLI, Filippo+4727276
71SCALISE, Lorenzo+6727278
72VAN DER SPUY, Rourke+17273-
JOHNSTON, Andrew+17768-
BARKER, Kyle+17174-
JOHANNESSEN, Kristian Krogh+17075-
SORDET, Clément+17471-
GARCIA, Sebastian+17669-
KAMINSKI, Rupert+17273-
ERICKSON, Dan+17174-
PREMLALL, Yurav+17669-
FRITTELLI, Dylan+17273-
NORRIS, Shaun+17768-
AIKEN, Thomas+17174-
84WEARS-TAYLOR, Stefan+27571-
FOLLETT-SMITH, Benjamin+27175-
MAAS, Christian (AM)+27373-
SIMPSON, Samuel+27670-
DAVIDSON, Jack+27076-
MOLINARI, Edoardo+27670-
VAN NIEKERK, Danie+27175-
91GOUNDEN, Aneurin+37473-
ELVIRA, Manuel+37374-
VENTER, Albert+37572-
HUGO, Jean+37374-
MICHAEL, Anthony+37275-
DINGLE, Wynand+37176-
WU, Ashun+37473-
98BAWDEN, Bradley+47177-
PEPLER, Gerhard+47573-
DAVIDSE, Keenan+47573-
ROWE, Lyle+47078-
BAIRSTOW, Sam+47474-
MOOLMAN, Pieter+47375-
STRYDOM, Tristen+47177-
VORSTER, Martin+47474-
106SPACEY, Matthew+57871-
HANNA, Chase+57376-
MANLEY, Stuart+57673-
PRINSLOO, Jaco+57772-
AMM, David Rowland Montague+57673-
111GIRRBACH, Joel+67575-
RUSCH, Benjamin+67377-
FISHER JNR, Trevor+67575-
SIMON, Thabang+67476-
BLOMME, Adam+67773-
KNAPPE, Alexander+67575-
GALLACHER, Stephen+67773-
FERGUSON, Ewen+67773-
LAMPRECHT, Christo (AM)+67674-
120BOSHOFF, William Louis+77477-
BENNETT, Daniel (AM)+77279-
VILJOEN, MJ+77378-
KARMIS, Peter+77576-
BREMNER, Merrick+78170-
REDMAN, Jake+77180-
GRADECKI, Mateusz+77774-
ROHWER, Martin+77279-
KARLSSON, Anton+77279-
OTTO, Hennie+77378-
RITCHIE, JC+76883-
MOSTERT, Dylan+77477-
VAN TONDER, Daniel+77180-
BLAAUW, Jacques+77774-
BURNAND, Jordan (AM)+78071-
WILSON, Oliver+77378-
136SCHIETEKAT, Neil+87181-
KORB, Ruan+87280-
138STONE, Brandon+97578-
RAMA, Nikhil+97380-
140CROSBIE, Keagan (AM)+107678-
BASSON, Christiaan+107975-
HANSEN, Joachim B+107678-
O'KENNEDY, Hennie+107480-
CANTERO, Ivan+107678-
THOMAS, Keagan+107876-
MITCHELL, Malcolm+107579-
147VERSTER, Ivan (AM)+117877-
148DU PREEZ, James Hart+127977-
BESARD, Matthis+127581-
150VAN WYK, Keelan+137483-
151CHINHOI, Robson+147880-
152THIMBA JNR, Toto+177784-
153SITHEBE, Slenda+188379-
154GALANT, Tristin+198083-
DU PLOOY, Henning+197984-
BROWN, Daniel+349--
The Editorial Team Avatar

About The Editorial Team

The editorial team at Golf Today strives to provide readers with captivating content that celebrates the rich heritage and exciting developments in the world of golf. Their collective expertise and dedication ensure that Golf Today remains a premier destination for golf enthusiasts seeking the latest news, insightful analysis, and engaging stories from the world of golf.

Investec South African Open Championship 2023

Date: November 30th - 3rd 2023

Location: Blair Atholl Golf & Equestrian Estate, Lanseria, Johannesburg, South Africa

Purse: $1,500,000

Read Next

Mexico Open Golf

Jake Knapp grabs third-round lead as Matt Wallace’s challenge fades

PGA Tour rookie Knapp had seven birdies in his first nine holes to open a four-stroke lead at the Mexico Open.

TPC Sawgrass: A Guide to the 2024 Players Championship

One of the biggest events in golf each year - The Players Tournament at TPC Sawgrass is eagerly awaited with the world's best players featuring
Mexico Open Golf

Strong finish gives Matt Wallace a share of halfway lead in Mexico

The Englishman played his last nine holes in 30 as he moved to 11-under-par.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram