Carnoustie Country Classic 2016

Max Faulkner - the first recipient of the Association of Golf Writers Trophy in 1951

Since 1951, when Max Faulkner (left) won, it is chosen by a poll of members of the Association and awarded to the individual, born or resident in Europe, or European team, who have made the most outstanding contribution to golf in the preceding year.

Lee Westwood Multiple Association of Golf Writers Trophy winners
In its 55 year history, only two players have won three times - Seve Ballesteros and Lee Westwood. Recent double Trophy winners include Annika Sorenstam and Padraig Harrington.
Year The Association of Golf Writers Trophy
2010 Graeme McDowell
2009 Lee Westwood
2008 Padraig Harrington
2007 Padraig Harrington
2006 Ryder Cup Team (Ian Woosnam, capt)
2005 Annika Sorenstam
2004 Ryder Cup Team (Bernhard Langer, capt)
2003 Annika Sorenstam
2002 Ryder Cup Team (Sam Torrance, capt)
2001 Walker Cup Team (Peter McEvoy, capt)
2000 Lee Westwood
1999 Sergio Garcia
1998 Lee Westwood
1997 Alison Nicholas
1996 Colin Montgomerie
1995 Ryder Cup Team (Bernard Gallacher, capt)
1994 Laura Davies
1993 Bernhard Langer
1992 Solheim Cup Team (Mickey Walker, capt)
1991 Severiano Ballesteros
1990 Nick Faldo
1989 Walker Cup Team (Geoff Marks, capt)
1988 Sandy Lyle
1987 Ryder Cup Team (Tony Jacklin, capt)
1986 Curtis Cup Team (Diane Bailey, capt)
1985 Ryder Cup Team (Tony Jacklin, capt)
1984 Severiano Ballesteros
1983 Nick Faldo
1982 Gordon Brand Jnr
1981 Bernhard Langer
1980 Sandy Lyle
1979 Severiano Ballesteros
1978 Peter McEvoy
1977 Christy O'Connor Sen.
1976 Eisenhower Trophy Team (Sandy Saddler, capt)
1975 The Golf Foundation
1974 Peter Oosterhuis
1973 Peter Oosterhuis
1972 Miss Mickey Walker
1971 Walker Cup Team (Michael Bonallack, capt)
1970 Tony Jacklin
1969 Tony Jacklin
1968 Michael Bonallack
1967 John Panton
1966 Ronnie Shade
1965 Gerald Micklem
1964 Eisenhower Trophy Team (Joe Carr, capt)
1963 Michael Lunt
1962 Mrs Marley Spearman
1961 Cdr. RCT Roe
1960 Sir Stuart Goodwin
1959 Eric Brown
1958 Harry Bradshaw
1957 Dai Rees
1956 John Beharrell
1955 LGU Junior Team (Mrs BR Bostock, capt)
1954 Miss Frances Stephens
1953 Joe Carr
1952 Miss Elizabeth Price
1951 Max Faulkner