Marianne Skarpnord voted as the Players’ Player of the Year

Following a superb season, which included a victory and nine further top-10 finishes.

Marianne Skarpnord was voted as the Players’ Player of the Year for 2019, following a superb season, which included a victory and nine further top-10 finishes.

Players’ Player of the Year - Marianne Skarpnord
Photo courtesy of the Ladies European Tour

The 33-year-old from Østfold won the Pacific Bay Resort Australian Ladies Classic – Bonville, in 2019 and posted nine further top-10 finishes from 18 appearances on the LET.

She opened the season with a runner-up finish in the Fatima Bint Mubarak Ladies Open in Abu Dhabi, then won on her second start, at Bonville Golf Resort, in New South Wales.

Further top 10s followed in the Lalla Meryem Cup, Omega Dubai Moonlight Classic, La Reserva de Sotogrande Invitational, Jabra Ladies Open, Ladies European Thailand Championship, Estrella Damm Mediterranean Ladies Open, before another runner-up finish in the Hero Women’s Indian Open and then tied seventh in the Andalucía Costa del Sol Open de España.

She finished tied 34th in the Magical Kenyan Ladies Open presented by Safaricom’s M-pesa despite suffering from an inflamed left ankle and right index finger.

At the end-of-year awards, she said: “I want to say thank you to everyone who voted for me. This means more than you know.”

Skarpnord finished second on the order of merit, after rookie Esther Henseleit won the season-ending Magical Kenya Ladies Open and she added: “I am very disappointed not to win the order of merit, but after the season that Esther has had, I really think she deserves it and congratulations to her. It has been extremely impressive and she is a star of the future.”

Players’ Player of the Year

Read next

Official World Golf Ranking

Golf Ranking
By GT Editor

1995 Annika Sorenstam
1996 Laura Davies
1997 Alison Nicholas
1998 Sophie Gustafson
1999 Laura Davies
2000 Sophie Gustafson
2001 Raquel Carriedo
2002 Annika Sorenstam
2003 Sophie Gustafson
2004 Stephanie Arricau
2005 Iben Tinning
2006 Gwladys Nocera
2007 Bettina Hauert
2008 Gwladys Nocera
2009 Catriona Matthew
2010 Lee-Anne Pace
2011 Caroline Hedwall
2012 Carlota Ciganda
2013 Lee-Anne Pace
2014 Charley Hull
2015 Nicole Broch Larsen
2016 Beth Allen
2017 Georgia Hall
2018 Georgia Hall
2019 Marianne Skarpnord

Share this article