The Stableford Scoring System Format

The Stableford system of scoring was invented in 1931 by Dr. Frank Stableford of the Wallasey & Royal Liverpool Golf Clubs and the first competition under Stableford Rules was played on 16 May 1932 at Wallasey.

Each player or side plays against the par of each hole and receives points according to how he scores in relation to par.

The scoring system is as follows:

2 or more over par

0 Points

1 over par

1 Points


2 Points

1 under par

3 Points

2 under par

4 Points

3 under par

5 Points

And so on..

(It would be very unlikely that anyone would score more than 4 under par, though from a high handicap this is possible).

The score is the nett score for each hole dependent on the player's handicap. The normal allowance under Stableford rule is 7/8ths of the lowest club handicap, though it is becoming common practice for players to receive their full handicap allowance.

The nett score is calculated by taking strokes at the appropriate hole using the stroke index shown on the card.

Whereas medal play requires you to complete every hole, Stableford is a score by hole, so that if you take more than 2 over par nett at the first, you can pick your ball up and go to the second hole and start again.

At the end of the 18 holes, the number of points gained at each of the holes is added together to give a total points score. Because of its format it is suitable for strokeplay only.