LPGA Drive On Championship R3

Home > Viktor Hovland > LPGA Drive On Championship R3
Leona Maguire wins first LPGA title
Posted on
February 6, 2022
The Editorial Team in ,
Estimated reading time: 5 minutes

LPGA Drive On 2022 R3
February 03-05
Crown Colony G&CC, Fort Myers, Florida
Round 1, Round 2

Estimated reading time: 6 minutes

Leona Maguire finished at 18-under after firing a final-round 67 at the LPGA Drive On Championship to win the first title of her LPGA Tour career, becoming the first woman from Ireland to win in the Tour’s history. Her 198 total ties her career-best 54-hole score, last recorded at the 2021 Pelican Women’s Championship.

LPGA Drive On 2022 R3

“Hasn't really sunk in yet. It's a bit surreal. It's been a long time coming and I suppose you don't know it's going to happen until it actually does,” said Maguire. “Tried to just stay really patient today. Didn't get ahead of myself. Wanted to go out and just shoot a number. Didn't want anybody to have to hand it to me. I wanted to go out and win it myself and earn it. Yeah, just really proud of the way I played today.”

LPGA Drive On 2022 R3

Maguire started the day tied for the lead with Marina Alex and said she didn’t look at leaderboards until the fairway at the 18th and didn’t know how the results were beginning to net out. After carding her first birdie at the 2nd, Maguire picked up speed after a bogey at the 3rd with back-to-back birdies at the 7th and 8th and closed with a 33 on her back-nine holes.

“I think the birdie on 7 was huge. Brittany [Altomare] had gone on that run early, and as I expected, I knew someone was going to go low today. I was just trying to keep up with her and Marina early on.

"That birdie on 7 and 8 as well out of the pine straw was huge for momentum making the turn, and then another two on 10 and 11. I thought the shot on 11 was in,” said Maguire. “But, yeah, just some really solid iron shots to set up those chances.”

LPGA Drive On 2022 R3

Lexi Thompson played her first seven holes 7-under, which included an eagle at the 10th. She closed with a birdie after a bogey at the 16th and posted a final-round 65 to finish at 15-under.

“I think it's all about just putting myself in contention. I've put in the work in the off-season, hours on the putting green, hours in the gym, and just working on myself and improvement. There's all I want to see. As athletes we just continue to try to improve on our games and ourselves, and that's what I see. We just want to see the hard work pay off,” said Thompson. “Just going to continue to work hard and stay in the moment and put myself in contention and hopefully a win will come.”

The 11-time LPGA Tour winner last won at the 2019 ShopRite LPGA Classic.

Sarah Schmelzel made six birdies in her final seven holes to move up the leaderboard into third at 14-under, her career-best finish on the LPGA Tour. Five players tied for fourth at 13-under.

LPGA Drive On 2022 R3

Pos.PlayerTo ParScoresTotal
1Leona Maguire-1866-65-67198
2Lexi Thompson-1569-67-65201
3Sarah Schmelzel-1469-69-64202
T4Xiyu Janet Lin-1368-72-63203
T4Patty Tavatanakit-1366-70-67203
T4Brittany Altomare-1368-67-68203
T4Stacy Lewis-1368-67-68203
T4Marina Alex-1365-66-72203
T9Pauline Roussin-Bouchard-1270-67-67204
T9Jeongeun Lee6-1267-69-68204
T11Cheyenne Knight-1170-69-66205
T11Brooke M. Henderson-1171-67-67205
T11Atthaya Thitikul-1171-66-68205
T11Charley Hull-1167-70-68205
T15Aditi Ashok-1072-71-63206
T15Nelly Korda-1072-70-64206
T15Hye-Jin Choi-1071-69-66206
T15Madelene Sagstrom-1067-71-68206
T15Nanna Koerstz Madsen-1068-69-69206
T20Jenny Shin-974-68-65207
T20Perrine Delacour-973-67-67207
T20Kelly Tan-971-69-67207
T20Caroline Masson-967-72-68207
T20Celine Boutier-970-67-70207
T20Yaeeun Hong-968-69-70207
T26Georgia Hall-870-71-67208
T26Megan Khang-868-72-68208
T26In Gee Chun-870-68-70208
T26Lauren Stephenson-872-65-71208
T30Yealimi Noh-774-69-66209
T30Ayaka Furue-770-72-67209
T30Amy Yang-770-72-67209
T30Allisen Corpuz-770-69-70209
T30Inbee Park-770-69-70209
T30Jasmine Suwannapura-769-70-70209
T30Linnea Johansson-766-69-74209
T37Lilia Vu-671-72-67210
T37Isi Gabsa-671-71-68210
T37Na Rin An-671-70-69210
T37Jennifer Chang-670-68-72210
T41Ruixin Liu-571-72-68211
T41Paula Reto-571-72-68211
T41Pajaree Anannarukarn-570-73-68211
T41Alison Lee-569-74-68211
T41Brittany Lincicome-573-69-69211
T41Anna Nordqvist-569-73-69211
T41A Lim Kim-572-69-70211
T41Bianca Pagdanganan-570-71-70211
T41Marissa Steen-569-72-70211
T41Cydney Clanton-570-70-71211
T41Nasa Hataoka-565-75-71211
T41Su Oh-568-71-72211
T53Wichanee Meechai-472-70-70212
T53Lindsey Weaver-Wright-471-71-70212
T53Pernilla Lindberg-469-73-70212
T53Janie Jackson-472-69-71212
T53Ryann O'Toole-468-72-72212
T53Bronte Law-467-72-73212
T59Dana Finkelstein-372-71-70213
T59Annie Park-369-74-70213
T59Pornanong Phatlum-373-69-71213
T59Moriya Jutanugarn-372-70-71213
T59Gemma Dryburgh-372-69-72213
T59Amy Olson-370-71-72213
T59Austin Ernst-370-71-72213
T66Fatima Fernandez Cano-274-69-71214
T66Jodi Ewart Shadoff-272-71-71214
T66Ariya Jutanugarn-272-70-72214
T66Katherine Perry-Hamski-272-70-72214
T66Giulia Molinaro-268-74-72214
T71Carlota Ciganda-172-71-72215
T71Angela Stanford-177-65-73215
73Rachel Rohanna+170-73-74217
Yuka SasoCUT77-67144
Stephanie MeadowCUT73-71144
Albane ValenzuelaCUT73-71144
Katherine KirkCUT72-72144
Andrea LeeCUT71-73144
Ana BelacCUT69-75144
Sophia SchubertCUT69-75144
Sarah KempCUT74-71145
Alana UriellCUT73-72145
Frida KinhultCUT72-73145
Agathe LaisneCUT72-73145
Cristie KerrCUT71-74145
Ally EwingCUT69-76145
Dewi WeberCUT69-76145
Hee Young ParkCUT68-77145
Maude-Aimee LeblancCUT67-78145
Casey DanielsonCUT77-69146
Jennifer SongCUT76-70146
Maria FassiCUT75-71146
Mel ReidCUT75-71146
Muni HeCUT74-72146
Jennifer KupchoCUT74-72146
Gerina Michelle MendozaCUT74-72146
Lauren CoughlinCUT73-73146
Ashleigh BuhaiCUT72-74146
Lauren KimCUT76-71147
Morgane MetrauxCUT75-72147
Yu LiuCUT73-74147
Gaby LopezCUT73-74147
Jenny ColemanCUT72-75147
Mina HarigaeCUT72-75147
Emily Kristine PedersenCUT72-75147
Jeongeun LeeCUT70-77147
Christina KimCUT75-73148
Peiyun ChienCUT74-74148
Sophia PopovCUT74-74148
Haeji KangCUT72-76148
Mirim LeeCUT72-76148
Laura DaviesCUT75-74149
Amanda DohertyCUT76-74150
Brittany LangCUT73-78151
Jaye Marie GreenCUT76-76152
Esther HenseleitCUT74-78152
Allison EmreyCUT74-81155
Na Yeon ChoiCUT79-77156
Angel YinCUT81-77158
Jessica KordaWD
The Editorial Team Avatar

About The Editorial Team

The editorial team at Golf Today strives to provide readers with captivating content that celebrates the rich heritage and exciting developments in the world of golf. Their collective expertise and dedication ensure that Golf Today remains a premier destination for golf enthusiasts seeking the latest news, insightful analysis, and engaging stories from the world of golf.

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Read Next

Alfred Dunhill Championship 2023 R2

Casey Jarvis leading by one at 10-under

Alfred Dunhill Championship R2
Jon Rahm

Some of the key questions after Jon Rahm’s LIV switch

Rahm’s decision to join the Saudi-funded breakaway represents a huge U-turn and deepens the divisions in the men’s professional game.
Jon Rahm and Rory McIlroy

Rory McIlroy expects Ryder Cup changes after Jon Rahm’s LIV switch

The Spaniard has played in the last three Ryder Cups but his future in the biennial contest is now in doubt.
Jon Rahm

Masters champion Jon Rahm confirms he is joining LIV Golf

The 29-year-old becomes the second current major champion on the LIV circuit after US PGA champion Brooks Koepka.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram