Sentry Tournament of Champions R3

Jon Rahm cards 61 to tie for the lead

Sentry Champions 2022 R3
January 06-09
Plantation Course at Kapalua, Kapalua, Maui, Hawaii
Round 1, Round 2, Round 4

Estimated reading time: 3 minutes

World number 1 Jon Rahm signed for a 61 in spite of an early bogey on Saturday to join overnight leader Cameron Smith in the lead of the Sentry Tournament of Champions.

Sentry Champions 2022 R3

“It’s definitely a doable golf course,” said Rahm, “but you still have to hit the shots, and come tomorrow we got to keep doing the same thing. We had a fun battle today and I’m guessing tomorrow’s going to be more of the same. We’re going to need a lot of birdies to get ahead and get the win.”

The Spaniard matched the low score of his career and tied the course record at Kapalua.

Sentry Champions 2022 R3

Australian Smith, who led after the first two rounds, produced a bogey-free 64 to reach 26-under.

“It was really good fun out there today,” said Smith. “Obviously playing nice golf helps. But watching Jon was pretty intense there on that back nine, some of the best golf I think I’ve ever seen, definitely some of the best putting.

“So, yeah, one more day. Hopefully we can do much of the same tomorrow and we’ll see what happens.”

Sentry Champions 2022 R3

American Daniel Berger slipped down one place into third after carding a third 66 to reach 21-under.

Sentry Champions 2022 R3

Read next

ISPS Handa World Invitational R2 – Men

By GT Editor
Pos.PlayerTo ParR1R2R3Total
T1Cameron Smith-26656464193
T1Jon Rahm-26666661193
3Daniel Berger-21666666198
T4Matt Jones-20706762199
T4Sungjae Im-20676765199
T4Patrick Cantlay-20666766199
7Marc Leishman-18696765201
T8Justin Thomas-17746761202
T8Hideki Matsuyama-17696568202
T10Cam Davis-16696866203
T10Kevin Kisner-16696866203
T10Stewart Cink-16696767203
T10Kevin Na-16676868203
T14Max Homa-15726765204
T14Patrick Reed-15746466204
T14Bryson DeChambeau-15696867204
T14Xander Schauffele-15696768204
T14Sam Burns-15726468204
T19Talor Gooch-14687067205
T19Collin Morikawa-14687067205
T19Seamus Power-14716569205
T19Si Woo Kim-14716569205
T23Joel Dahmen-13686969206
T23Garrick Higgo-13686969206
25Erik van Rooyen-12677070207
T26Jordan Spieth-11716968208
T26Tony Finau-11706969208
T26Brooks Koepka-11686872208
29Billy Horschel-10726770209
T30Lucas Herbert-9697368210
T30Phil Mickelson-9716970210
T32Harris English-8737068211
T32Viktor Hovland-8696973211
T34K.H. Lee-7727169212
T34Abraham Ancer-7726971212
T34Branden Grace-7696974212
37Lucas Glover-6746970213
38Jason Kokrak-5727072214
Share this article