The World Cup

The World Cup

Founded by Canadian industrialist John Jay Hopkins, in the hope of promoting goodwill between nations through golf, the World Cup began life in 1953 as the Canada Cup.

It officially became the World Cup in 1967 and, with minor changes, has been ever since. It is sanctioned by the International Federation of PGA Tours.

World Cup logo World Cup records
Team and individual wins, winning margins, oldest and youngest, and more.
2011 US World Cup Winners USA The 2011 World Cup
Matt Kuchar and Gary Woodland claim a 24th victory for the USA.
Team Members
Individual winner
2007-2018 : Mission Hills World Cup
(Format - Alternating rounds of foursomes and fourball)
2011 Mission Hills, Hainan, China (Blackstone Crse) United States
Matt Kuchar
Gary Woodland
2009 Mission Hills, Shenzhen, China (Olazabal Course) Italy 259 Edoardo Molinari
Francesco Molinari
2008 Mission Hills, Shenzhen, China (Olazabal Course) Sweden 261 Robert Karlsson
Henrik Stenson
2007 Mission Hills, Shenzhen, China (Olazabal Course) Scotland 263* Colin Montgomerie
Marc Warren
2000-2006: World Golf Championships - World Cup
(Format - Alternating rounds of foursomes and fourball)
2006 Sandy Lane Resort, Barbados Germany 268* Bernhard Langer
Marcel Siem
2005 Victoria GC, Portugal Wales 189# Bradley Dredge
Stephen Dodd
2004 Real Club de Sevilla, Spain England 257 Luke Donald
Paul Casey
2003 Kiawah Island, USA South Africa 275 Trevor Immelman
Rory Sabbatini
2002 Puerto Vallarta, Mexico Japan 252 Shigeki Maruyama
Toshimitsu Izawa
2001 Taiheiyo Club, Japan South Africa 254 Ernie Els
Retief Goosen
2000 Buenos Aires GC, Argentina United States 254 Tiger Woods
David Duval
1993-1999: The World Cup of Golf
(Format - 72 holes combined stroke play scores)
1999 Mines Resort, Malaysia United States 545 Tiger Woods
Mark O'Meara
Tiger Woods 263
1998 Gulf Harbour, New Zealand England 568 Nick Faldo
David Carter
Scott Verplank 279
1997 Kiawah Island, USA Ireland 545 Padraig Harrington
Paul McGinley
Colin Montgomerie 266
1996 Erinvale, South Africa South Africa 547 Ernie Els
Wayne Westner
Ernie Els 272
1995 Mission Hills, China United States 543 Fred Couples
Davis Love III
Davis Love III 267
1994 Dorado Beach, Puerto Rico United States 536 Fred Couples
Davis Love III
Fred Couples 265
1993 Lake Nona, USA United States 556 Fred Couples
Davis Love III
Bernhard Langer 272
1967-1992: The World Cup
(Format - 72 holes combined stroke play scores)
1992 La Moraleja, Spain United States 548 Fred Couples
Davis Love III
Brett Ogle 270*
1991 La Querce, Italy Sweden 563 Anders Forsbrand
Per-Ulrik Johansson
Ian Woosnam 273
1990 Grand Cypress, USA Germany 556 Bernard Langer
Torsten Giedeon
Payne Stewart 271
1989 Las Brisas, Spain Australia 278@ Peter Fowler
Wayne Grady
Peter Fowler
1988 Royal Melbourne, Australia United States 560 Ben Crenshaw
Mark McCumber
Ben Crenshaw 275
1987 Kapalua, USA Wales 574* Ian Woosnam
David Llewelyn
Ian Woosnam 274
1986 Not played

1985 La Quinta, USA Canada 559 Dave Barr
Dan Halldorson
Howard Clark 272
1984 Olgiata, Italy Spain 414# Jose Maria Canizares
Jose Rivero
Jose-Maria Canizares 205
1983 Pondok Inah, Indonesia United States 565 Rex Caldwell
John Cook
Dave Barr 276
1982 Acapulco, Mexico Spain 563 Manuel Pinero
Jose Maria Canizares
Manuel Pinero 281
1981 Not played

1980 Bogota, Colombia Canada 572 Dan Halldorson
Jim Nelford
Sandy Lyle 282
1979 Glyfada, Greece United States 575 John Mahaffey
Hale Irwin
Hale Irwin 285
1978 Hawaii, USA United States 564 John Mahaffey
Andy North
John Mahaffey 281
1977 Manila, Philippines Spain 591 Severiano Ballesteros
Antonio Garrido
Gary Player 289
1976 Palm Springs, USA Spain 574 Severiano Ballesteros
Manuel Pinero
Ernesto Perez Acosta 282
1975 Bangkok, Thailand United States 554 Johnny Miller
Lou Graham
Johnny Miller 275
1974 Caracas, Venezuela South Africa 554 Bobby Cole
Dale Hayes
Bobby Cole 271
1973 Marbella, Spain United States 558 Johnny Miller
Jack Nicklaus
Johnny Miller 277
1972 Melbourne, Australia Taiwan 438# Hsieh Min-nan
Lu Liang-huan
Hsieh Min-nan 217
1971 Palm Beach, USA United States 555 Jack Nicklaus
Lee Trevino
Jack Nicklaus 271
1970 Buenos Aires, Argentina Australia 545 Bruce Devlin
David Graham
Roberto de Vicenzo 269
1969 Singapore United States 552 Orville Moody
Lee Trevino
Lee Trevino 275
1968 Olgiata, Italy Canada 569 Al Balding
George Knudson
Al Balding 274
1967 Mexico City, Mexico United States 557 Jack Nicklaus
Arnold Palmer
Arnold Palmer 276
1953-1966: The Canada Cup
(Format - 72 holes combined stroke play scores, except 1953 - 36 holes combined)
1966 Tokyo, Japan United States 548 Jack Nicklaus
Arnold Palmer
George Knudson 272*
1965 Madrid, Spain South Africa 571 Gary Player
Harold Henning
Gary Player 281
1964 Maui, USA United States 554 Jack Nicklaus
Arnold Palmer
Jack Nicklaus 276
1963 Saint-Nom-La-Bretèche, France United States 482 Jack Nicklaus
Arnold Palmer
Jack Nicklaus 237
1962 Buenos Aires, Argentina United States 557 Sam Snead
Arnold Palmer
Roberto de Vicenzo 276
1961 Puerto Rico United States 560 Sam Snead
Jimmy Demaret
Sam Snead 272
1960 Portmarnock, Ireland United States 565 Sam Snead
Arnold Palmer
Flory van Donck 279
1959 Melbourne, Australia Australia 563 Peter Thomson
Kel Nagle
Stan Leonard 275*
1958 Mexico City, Mexico Ireland 579 Harry Bradshaw
Christy O'Connor
Angel Miguel 276*
1957 Tokyo, Japan Japan 557 Torakichi Nakamura
Koichi Ono
Torakichi Nakamura 274
1956 Wentworth, England United States 567 Ben Hogan
Sam Snead
Ben Hogan 277
1955 Washington DC, USA United States 560
Chick Harbert
Ed Furgol
Ed Furgol 279*
1954 Laval-sur-Lac, Canada Australia 556 Peter Thomson
Kel Nagle
Stan Leonard 275
1953 Montreal, Canada Argentina 278 Antonio Cerda
Roberto de Vicenzo
Antonio Cerda 140
* denotes playoff victory
# denotes three rounds only, due to bad weather
@ denotes two rounds only, due to bad weather