Zach Johnson tied for lead after bogey-free 62

Home > Tours > PGA Tour > Zach Johnson tied for lead after bogey-free 62
The American Express R1
Posted on
January 19, 2024
The Editorial Team in ,
Estimated reading time: 3 minutes

Zach Johnson followed a birdie on No. 1 at La Quinta with a pair of pars before reeling off six consecutive birdies on Nos. 4-9, matching his career-best birdie streak, to close with a bogey-free 62 and a share of the lead at 10-under at The American Express.

“La Quinta Country Club is legitimately one of the purest places we play on the PGA TOUR year-in, year-out. The grass is — it almost looks fake. If you have it going, and you have some sort of rhythm, and you’re seeing the lines on the putting green, because they’re pure, you can put a number up. Love this place. ... I told the assistant pro today if I broke 76 that I should get a free membership, but I don’t think that’s going to (happen). That’s unfortunate, but we’ll keep working on ‘em.”

The American recorded a total of 10 birdies in a round for the third time in his career. His front nine 29 was the lowest nine-hole score in his starts on Tour.

Sweden's Alex Noren started on No. 10 at La Quinta and reached 7-under through seven holes after a birdie-birdie-birdie-eagle-par-birdie-birdie start. He offset a double-bogey six at No. 17 with additional birdies on five of his last six holes for a share of the lead. He missed just three fairways and three greens in regulation and needed 23 putts to complete his round.

Philippines native Rico Hoey, making his fourth career start on the PGA TOUR, opened with a bogey-free 9-under 63 on the Nicklaus Tournament Course to take a share of third place.

South African Christiaan Bezuidenhout missed just two greens in regulation en route to a 9-under 63 at La Quinta to tie with Hoey.

Aon Swing 5

The American Express, the third event of the 2024 PGA TOUR Season and second Full-Field Event, marks the second opportunity for players to earn FedExCup points towards the Aon Swing 5.

The Aon Next 10 and Aon Swing 5 are eligibility pathways for players, not already qualified, to play their way into Signature Events via the FedExCup standings.

The top five players not otherwise exempt who earn the most FedExCup points during the Sony Open in Hawaii, The American Express and Farmers Insurance Open will qualify for the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am. The top five players not otherwise exempt who earn the most FedExCup points during those three events and the WM Phoenix Open, will qualify for The Genesis Invitational.

The Aon Next 10 for the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am and The Genesis Invitational was determined through the FedExCup Fall standings.

Pos.PlayerTo ParR1
T1Zach Johnson(LQ)-1062
T1Alex Noren(LQ)-1062
T3Rico Hoey(NT)-963
T3Christiaan Bezuidenhout(LQ)-963
T5Scott Stallings(SC)-864
T5Xander Schauffele(LQ)-864
T5Hayden Springer(SC)-864
T5Patrick Cantlay(LQ)-864
T5Si Woo Kim(LQ)-864
T5Chan Kim(NT)-864
T5Justin Lower(NT)-864
T5Nick Dunlap(a) (NT)-864
T5Alexander Björk(LQ)-864
T14Jimmy Stanger(NT)-765
T14Chesson Hadley(LQ)-765
T14Ryo Hisatsune(LQ)-765
T14Michael Kim(LQ)-765
T14Adam Hadwin(NT)-765
T14Min Woo Lee(NT)-765
T14Justin Thomas(LQ)-765
T14K.H. Lee(LQ)-765
T14Mac Meissner(SC)-765
T23Sungjae Im(NT)-666
T23Alejandro Tosti(NT)-666
T23Ben Griffin(LQ)-666
T23Chez Reavie(SC)-666
T23Andrew Putnam(NT)-666
T23Sam Burns(LQ)-666
T23Joe Highsmith(NT)-666
T23Ben Kohles(LQ)-666
T23Eric Cole(SC)-666
T23Kevin Yu(NT)-666
T23Tom Whitney(SC)-666
T23Bronson Burgoon(SC)-666
T23Alex Smalley(NT)-666
T23Erik van Rooyen(LQ)-666
T23Wilson Furr(NT)-666
T23Kevin Dougherty(LQ)-666
T39Kevin Streelman(LQ)-567
T39Matt Wallace(NT)-567
T39Shane Lowry(LQ)-567
T39Davis Thompson(LQ)-567
T39Scottie Scheffler(LQ)-567
T39Matthieu Pavon(NT)-567
T39Matt NeSmith(NT)-567
T39Tyler Duncan(SC)-567
T39Max Greyserman(NT)-567
T39Vince Whaley(LQ)-567
T39Will Gordon(LQ)-567
T39Zac Blair(NT)-567
T39Nico Echavarria(LQ)-567
T39J.T. Poston(SC)-567
T39Jacob Bridgeman(LQ)-567
T54Carl Yuan(NT)-468
T54Taylor Montgomery(NT)-468
T54Ryan Palmer(LQ)-468
T54Tony Finau(LQ)-468
T54Jason Day(LQ)-468
T54Adrien Dumont de Chassart(LQ)-468
T54Ben Silverman(LQ)-468
T54S.H. Kim(SC)-468
T54Josh Teater(NT)-468
T54Bill Haas(LQ)-468
T54Cam Davis(NT)-468
T54Erik Barnes(LQ)-468
T54Parker Coody(LQ)-468
T54Doug Ghim(SC)-468
T54Robby Shelton(NT)-468
T54Ben Martin(SC)-468
T54Joel Dahmen(NT)-468
T54Chris Kirk(LQ)-468
T54Will Zalatoris(SC)-468
T54Daniel Berger(SC)-468
T54Jhonattan Vegas(SC)-468
T54Nick Taylor(NT)-468
T54Taiga Semikawa(LQ)-468
T77Austin Eckroat(NT)-369
T77Charley Hoffman(LQ)-369
T77Patrick Fishburn(SC)-369
T77Sam Ryder(SC)-369
T77Matti Schmid(NT)-369
T77Martin Laird(SC)-369
T77Jason Dufner(NT)-369
T77David Skinns(SC)-369
T77James Hahn(SC)-369
T77John Pak(LQ)-369
T77Garrick Higgo(SC)-369
T77Dylan Wu(NT)-369
T77Stephan Jaeger(NT)-369
T77Beau Hossler(SC)-369
T77Keith Mitchell(NT)-369
T77Aaron Rai(LQ)-369
T77Camilo Villegas(SC)-369
T77Joseph Bramlett(NT)-369
T77Tom Hoge(LQ)-369
T77Brandon Wu(LQ)-369
T77Tom Kim(NT)-369
T98Mark Hubbard(SC)-270
T98Sam Stevens(SC)-270
T98Adam Long(LQ)-270
T98Harrison Endycott(SC)-270
T98Yuxin Lin(SC)-270
T98Troy Merritt(NT)-270
T98Paul Barjon(NT)-270
T98Thomas Detry(SC)-270
T98Greyson Sigg(LQ)-270
T98Adam Schenk(SC)-270
T98David Lingmerth(NT)-270
T98Ben Taylor(LQ)-270
T98Ryan Moore(NT)-270
T98Wyndham Clark(LQ)-270
T98Trace Crowe(SC)-270
T98Carson Young(SC)-270
T98David Lipsky(NT)-270
T98Akshay Bhatia(LQ)-270
T98Grayson Murray(SC)-270
T98Rickie Fowler(LQ)-270
T98Chandler Phillips(SC)-270
T119Callum Tarren(NT)-171
T119Lee Hodges(SC)-171
T119Chad Ramey(SC)-171
T119Blaine Hale, Jr.(NT)-171
T119Pierceson Coody(LQ)-171
T119Jake Knapp(LQ)-171
T119Peter Malnati(SC)-171
T119Andrew Landry(NT)-171
T119Justin Suh(LQ)-171
T119Maverick McNealy(LQ)-171
T119Patton Kizzire(SC)-171
T119Taylor Pendrith(NT)-171
T119Robert MacIntyre(LQ)-171
T119Tyler McCumber(SC)-171
T119Scott Gutschewski(NT)-171
T134Hayden Buckley(SC)E72
T134Davis Riley(NT)E72
T134Andrew Novak(NT)E72
T134Billy Horschel(SC)E72
T134Nate Lashley(SC)E72
T134Raul Pereda(NT)E72
T134Michael Block(SC)E72
T141Lanto Griffin(SC)173
T141Nicholas Lindheim(SC)173
T141J.B. Holmes(SC)173
T141Matt Kuchar(NT)173
T141Norman Xiong(SC)173
T146Cameron Champ(NT)274
T146Kevin Kisner(SC)274
T146Sami Valimaki(SC)274
T146Ryan McCormick(NT)274
T146Aaron Baddeley(SC)274
T151Harry Hall(SC)375
T151Ryan Brehm(SC)375
T151Brandt Snedeker(LQ)375
154Roger Sloan(NT)476
155Chris Gotterup(NT)577
156Tyson Alexander(SC)678
The Editorial Team Avatar

About The Editorial Team

The editorial team at Golf Today strives to provide readers with captivating content that celebrates the rich heritage and exciting developments in the world of golf. Their collective expertise and dedication ensure that Golf Today remains a premier destination for golf enthusiasts seeking the latest news, insightful analysis, and engaging stories from the world of golf.

Updated: ago
The American Express 2024

Date: January 18th - 21st 2024

Location: PGA WEST (Pete Dye SC, Nicklaus TC, La Quinta CC), La Quinta, California

Purse: $8,400,000

Read Next

Wishing Woods Well

Tiger's walk-off at Riviera shows he can no longer compete at the elite level.
PGA goes full LIV…Tiger far from out of the woods

PGA goes full LIV…Tiger far from out of the woods

Sundays, of whatever colour, are sadly not Tiger’s thing these days.
Genesis Invitational 2024 R4 - Hideki Matsuyama

Hideki Matsuyama wins Genesis Invitational title after stunning final round

Japan’s Matsuyama carded nine birdies at Riviera Country Club to finish 17 under par.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram