Ludvig Åberg takes halfway lead

Home > Tours > PGA Tour > Ludvig Åberg takes halfway lead
The RSM Classic R2
Posted on
November 18, 2023
The Editorial Team in ,
Estimated reading time: 2 minutes

Ludvig Åberg closed with a 20-foot birdie putt for a bogey-free 64 on the Seaside Course to take a one-stroke lead at 11-under at The RSM Classic.

"I feel like I've been striking the ball quite well, which obviously is nice in the wind, which is quite tricky to kind of maneuver. I made a few par putts today, I made some 10-footer-ish for par on 1 and then it's nice to get those momentum putts and to keep the round going a little bit. But there's no guarantees, but if I keep doing what I'm doing today, I like my chances."

His 131 total marks his first 36-hole lead/co-lead and lowest opening 36-hole score in his 11th start on Tour as a professional.

"My intention is to stay and play here in America, to play on the PGA Tour. Like I said before, I think we'll sit down on Monday and kind of talk it over. My intention is the PGA Tour, that's where I want to play, and I guess we're just going to have to see where that ends up.

"I think I know my capabilities and I know my -- I know my strengths. But also, to be able to do it this quickly, probably not," he said of his success since turning pro. "I mean, it's been so much fun. I still pinch myself in the morning whenever I wake up that I actually get to do this for a living, but it's really cool and I'm looking forward to a bunch of years ahead of me."

The Swede is one of only four players in the field without a bogey through 36 holes (Peter Kuest, Brendon Todd, Cameron Young).

The RSM Classic is the final event of consideration for the Arnold Palmer Award, given annually to the PGA Tour’s Rookie of the Year.

Fellow rookie Eric Cole of the USA started the day in a share of the lead on the back nine and made five consecutive birdies from the 14th but a bogey and a double bogey at the par-5 7th led to a 66 on the Seaside Course for a share of second place at 10-under.

Denny McCarthy completed his round in the morning for a share of the lead and shot 67 on the Seaside Course for a share of second place alongside fellow American Sam Ryder who eagled the par-5 19th for a 65 on the Plantation Course.

Pos.PlayerTo ParR1R2Total
1Ludvig Åberg(SS)-116764131
T2Denny McCarthy(SS)-106567132
T2Sam Ryder(PL)-106765132
T2Eric Cole(SS)-106666132
T5Austin Eckroat(SS)-96568133
T5Matt Kuchar(PL)-96568133
T5Tyler Duncan(PL)-96865133
T5Peter Kuest(SS)-96766133
T5Ben Kohles(PL)-96667133
T10Taylor Montgomery(SS)-86965134
T10Mackenzie Hughes(SS)-86866134
T10Ben Griffin(PL)-86767134
T10Adam Svensson(PL)-86866134
T10Nicholas Lindheim(SS)-86866134
T10Kelly Kraft(SS)-86965134
T10Matt NeSmith(SS)-87163134
T10Cameron Young(SS)-86668134
T10Robert Streb(PL)-86668134
T10Adam Schenk(PL)-86866134
T10Brendon Todd(SS)-86866134
T10Greyson Sigg(PL)-86668134
T22Wesley Bryan(PL)-76867135
T22Vince Whaley(PL)-76669135
T22Akshay Bhatia(SS)-76966135
T22Alex Noren(SS)-76768135
T22William McGirt(PL)-76768135
T22Stephan Jaeger(SS)-76966135
T22Luke List(PL)-76768135
T22Davis Thompson(SS)-76669135
T22Ricky Barnes(SS)-76768135
T22Maverick McNealy(PL)-76867135
T32Austin Smotherman(SS)-67165136
T32Justin Suh(SS)-67165136
T32Thomas Detry(SS)-67066136
T32Si Woo Kim(SS)-67066136
T32Carl Yuan(PL)-66670136
T32Tano Goya(PL)-66868136
T32Russell Knox(PL)-66670136
T32Kevin Tway(PL)-66967136
T32Nico Echavarria(SS)-66967136
T32Stewart Cink(PL)-66967136
T32Chris Kirk(SS)-66967136
T32Ben Carr(SS)-66868136
T44Kramer Hickok(SS)-57166137
T44Camilo Villegas(PL)-56770137
T44Kevin Kisner(SS)-57067137
T44Nick Hardy(PL)-57067137
T44Cody Gribble(SS)-57067137
T44Brent Grant(SS)-57166137
T44Matt Atkins(SS)-57166137
T44Ryan Moore(SS)-57067137
T44Will Gordon(SS)-57166137
T44Tommy Gainey(PL)-56671137
T44Brandon Wu(PL)-56770137
T44Corey Conners(SS)-57265137
T44Brian Gay(SS)-57265137
T44K.H. Lee(PL)-57067137
T44Brian Harman(SS)-57166137
T44Patton Kizzire(PL)-56869137
T44Fred Biondi(SS)-57067137
T61Charley Hoffman(PL)-46870138
T61Harry Higgs(SS)-46870138
T61Satoshi Kodaira(PL)-46969138
T61Ben Crane(PL)-47068138
T61Alex Smalley(PL)-47167138
T61Russell Henley(PL)-47266138
T61J.T. Poston(PL)-46672138
T61Harris English(PL)-46771138
T61Scott Piercy(PL)-47068138
T61Curtis Thompson(SS)-46870138
T61Cameron Percy(PL)-47068138
T61Aaron Baddeley(SS)-47068138
T61Carson Young(PL)-46870138
T61Chesson Hadley(PL)-47167138
T61J.J. Spaun(PL)-46870138
T61Cameron Champ(PL)-47068138
T61Andrew Novak(PL)-46969138
T61Jacob Solomon(SS)-47068138
CUTDoug Ghim-37267139
CUTTaylor Pendrith-36871139
CUTScott Stallings-37168139
CUTBrice Garnett-37267139
CUTKyle Westmoreland-37366139
CUTZecheng Dou-37069139
CUTSean O'Hair-37267139
CUTJustin Lower-37168139
CUTHarrison Endycott-37168139
CUTMark Hubbard-36970139
CUTKevin Chappell-37069139
CUTFrancesco Molinari-36970139
CUTDavid Ford(a)-37168139
CUTNate Lashley-36772139
CUTAdam Long-36970139
CUTDylan Wu-27070140
CUTHenrik Norlander-26773140
CUTSung Kang-27070140
CUTZac Blair-27268140
CUTRobby Shelton-26971140
CUTJosh Teater-27070140
CUTZach Johnson-27070140
CUTPeter Malnati-26971140
CUTMartin Trainer-27268140
CUTJonathan Byrd-26773140
CUTScott Harrington-26674140
CUTKeith Mitchell-17170141
CUTHayden Buckley-16972141
CUTBrian Stuard-17170141
CUTNick Watney-17071141
CUTWebb Simpson-17368141
CUTAustin Cook-17170141
CUTTroy Merritt-17764141
CUTDoc Redman-16972141
CUTBen Martin-17071141
CUTDylan Frittelli-17566141
CUTPaul Haley II-17071141
CUTMax McGreevy-17170141
CUTMatthias Schwab-17170141
CUTKevin Yu-16972141
CUTRyan Gerard-17170141
CUTKevin Roy-16873141
CUTHank LebiodaPar7567142
CUTCallum TarrenPar7072142
CUTPadraig HarringtonPar7270142
CUTSam StevensPar7270142
CUTFabián GómezPar6874142
CUTBilly HorschelPar7072142
CUTJim HermanPar6973142
CUTAugusto NúñezPar6973142
CUTDavid LingmerthPar6973142
CUTMartin LairdPar7072142
CUTMaxwell Ford(a)Par7468142
CUTTrevor WerbyloPar7369142
CUTJason Dufner+16974143
CUTRyan Armour+17271143
CUTMJ Daffue+17172143
CUTDavis Love III+17271143
CUTKevin Streelman+26975144
CUTRyan Brehm+27470144
CUTRichy Werenski+27173144
CUTMatti Schmid+27470144
CUTGreg Chalmers+27866144
CUTJimmy Walker+37372145
CUTLanto Griffin+37669145
CUTTyson Alexander+37471145
CUTTrevor Cone+37372145
CUTGrayson Murray+36976145
CUTRafael Campos+37273145
CUTMichael Gligic+47076146
CUTChris Stroud+57968147
CUTRyan Palmer+57374147
CUTBen Taylor+67870148
CUTJonas Blixt+77178149
CUTJacob Tilton+127975154
W/DS.Y. Noh-70-70
W/DAndrew Landry-77-77
W/DC.T. Pan----
The Editorial Team Avatar

About The Editorial Team

The editorial team at Golf Today strives to provide readers with captivating content that celebrates the rich heritage and exciting developments in the world of golf. Their collective expertise and dedication ensure that Golf Today remains a premier destination for golf enthusiasts seeking the latest news, insightful analysis, and engaging stories from the world of golf.

Updated: ago Related content: , , ,
The RSM Classic 2023

Date: November 16th - 19th 2023

Location: Sea Island Golf Club ((Seaside & Plantation Courses), St. Simons Island, GA

Purse: $8,400,000

Read Next

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram