Ben Griffin takes three-shot lead into final day in Mississippi

Home > Tours > PGA Tour > Ben Griffin takes three-shot lead into final day in Mississippi
Sanderson Farms Championship R3
Posted on
October 8, 2023
The Editorial Team in ,
Estimated reading time: 2 minutes

Ben Griffin carded a bogey-free 66 on Saturday to stay in the lead by three shots at the Sanderson Farms Championship.

"I felt like [66] was a good goal, try to get three on each side. I knew it was going to be windy and I needed to make sure I missed it in the right spots. Felt like I left myself a lot of 20-, 30-footers, but it was on holes where I needed to do, so if I had missed it on the wrong side, I was going to be scrambling to try to make pars.

"Was very proud of myself the way I stuck to the game plan, and I missed a few tee shots on the back nine but was able to escape, and that's always been one of the strengths of my career.

"As much as I want to be aggressive, I've learned on the PGA Tour you've got to be extremely disciplined. It's fun when I mis-hit shots because it gives me the opportunity to pull off something creative, but it's a lot more fun when you have stress-free golf, and I felt like I did a good job of that for probably 14, 15 holes today."

At 20-under 196 Griffin equalled the championship 54-hole record (Steve Lowery/2000, Scott Stallings/2012).

He fell one stroke shy of his best 54-hole score on Tour, a 195 at the 2022 Butterfield Bermuda Championship where he also got his best finish in 36 starts on Tour (T3).

China's Carl Yuan shot a 67 for a career-best 54-hole score of 199 and solo second place at 17-under.

Americans Scott Stallings (65) and Luke List (68) are tied in third at 16-under alongside Sweden's Henrik Norlander (68).

Pos.PlayerTo ParR1R2R3Total
1Ben Griffin-20676366196
2Carl Yuan-17666667199
T3Scott Stallings-16686765200
T3Henrik Norlander-16656768200
T3Luke List-16666668200
T6Cameron Champ-15676965201
T6Zecheng Dou-15676668201
T8Adam Svensson-14676966202
T8Ludvig Åberg-14676966202
10Christiaan Bezuidenhout-13666968203
T11Mark Hubbard-12696867204
T11Joel Dahmen-12696768204
T11Erik van Rooyen-12676869204
T11Troy Merritt-12686571204
T15Chad Ramey-11706867205
T15Tom Hoge-11716569205
T15Harry Higgs-11696472205
T18Richy Werenski-10706967206
T18Alex Smalley-10706967206
T18Brett White-10687068206
T18Lanto Griffin-10677069206
T18C.T. Pan-10686969206
T18Chesson Hadley-10646973206
T18Harrison Endycott-10676574206
T25Nick Hardy-9687069207
T25Tommy Gainey-9716769207
T25Davis Thompson-9677070207
T25Ryan Palmer-9696870207
T25Peter Malnati-9667170207
T25Russell Knox-9667071207
T25Wesley Bryan-9676872207
T25Beau Hossler-9686772207
T25Peter Kuest-9686772207
T34Kelly Kraft-8697069208
T34Vince Whaley-8687070208
T34Tyler Duncan-8696871208
T34David Lipsky-8706771208
T34Cody Gribble-8686971208
T34Martin Laird-8686872208
T34Matt NeSmith-8667072208
T34Sam Ryder-8676972208
T42Scott Harrington-7716870209
T42Michael Gligic-7726770209
T42Nicholas Lindheim-7677171209
T42Kevin Chappell-7716771209
T42Robert Streb-7706871209
T42Ross Steelman-7706871209
T42Cameron Percy-7706871209
T42Kevin Kisner-7677072209
T50Chris Baker-6716871210
T50William McGirt-6706971210
T50Eric Cole-6716871210
T50Lee Hodges-6697071210
T50Lucas Herbert-6706971210
T50Ted Potter, Jr.-6696972210
T50Alex Noren-6696972210
T50Akshay Bhatia-6667272210
T50Hank Lebioda-6677172210
T50Ben Martin-6706872210
T50Andrew Landry-6706773210
T50Brandt Snedeker-6686874210
T62Kyle Westmoreland-5706972211
T62Dylan Frittelli-5726772211
T62Kramer Hickok-5706972211
T62Stephan Jaeger-5716872211
T62Adam Long-5696973211
T62Garrick Higgo-5706675211
T68Brandon Wu-4657473212
T68Doc Redman-4677075212
T68Austin Cook-4686975212
T71Callum Tarren-3716874213
T71Jimmy Walker-3677274213
T71Ben Taylor-3696975213
T74Trevor Cone-2706975214
T74Jonas Blixt-2716875214
T74Chris Stroud-2697075214
77Ford Clegg-1726578215
78Jim Herman3697080219
CUTDylan Wu-46872-140
CUTAustin Smotherman-47070-140
CUTCamilo Villegas-47169-140
CUTSean O'Hair-46971-140
CUTSam Bennett-46971-140
CUTTrevor Werbylo-47070-140
CUTDoug Ghim-46872-140
CUTCarson Young-47070-140
CUTS.H. Kim-47367-140
CUTZac Blair-47367-140
CUTTrey Mullinax-46872-140
CUTMackenzie Hughes-47070-140
CUTPatton Kizzire-47169-140
CUTChase Parker-47070-140
CUTTano Goya-47466-140
CUTCharley Hoffman-36873-141
CUTBrice Garnett-36972-141
CUTMJ Daffue-37071-141
CUTBrian Gay-37170-141
CUTJason Dufner-37170-141
CUTTyson Alexander-36972-141
CUTRicky Barnes-37071-141
CUTKevin Roy-37170-141
CUTAugusto Núñez-36972-141
CUTBen Crane-37269-141
CUTGreyson Sigg-37368-141
CUTMartin Trainer-27270-142
CUTScott Brown-27369-142
CUTS.Y. Noh-27072-142
CUTD.J. Trahan-27270-142
CUTRyan Moore-26973-142
CUTMatti Schmid-27369-142
CUTRyan Gerard-27270-142
CUTKevin Tway-27072-142
CUTJustin Lower-27369-142
CUTNate Lashley-27072-142
CUTScott Piercy-27270-142
CUTHarry Hall-17172-143
CUTHayden Buckley-17172-143
CUTEmiliano Grillo-17271-143
CUTRyan Brehm-17172-143
CUTRobby Shelton-17271-143
CUTGreg Chalmers-16974-143
CUTWill Gordon-17271-143
CUTMax McGreevy-17172-143
CUTDavis RileyPar7173-144
CUTSatoshi KodairaPar7173-144
CUTSam StevensPar7173-144
CUTZack FischerPar7470-144
CUTPaul Haley IIPar7173-144
CUTKevin StreelmanPar7470-144
CUTRyan Armour+16976-145
CUTSung Kang+17372-145
CUTKevin Yu+16976-145
CUTK.H. Lee+17570-145
CUTBrandon Matthews+27175-146
CUTChez Reavie+27472-146
CUTAndrew Novak+27373-146
CUTFred Biondi+27472-146
CUTJonathan Byrd+37473-147
CUTBrian Stuard+37077-147
CUTBrent Grant+37968-147
CUTMatthias Schwab+47276-148
CUTNick Watney+47375-148
CUTKeith Mitchell+57376-149
CUTGreg Sonnier+98073-153
The Editorial Team Avatar

About The Editorial Team

The editorial team at Golf Today strives to provide readers with captivating content that celebrates the rich heritage and exciting developments in the world of golf. Their collective expertise and dedication ensure that Golf Today remains a premier destination for golf enthusiasts seeking the latest news, insightful analysis, and engaging stories from the world of golf.

Updated: ago Related content: , ,
Sanderson Farms Championship 2023

Date: October 5th - 8th 2023

Location: The Country Club of Jackson, Jackson, Mississippi

Purse: $8,200,000

Read Next

Arnold Palmer

How Arnie's arrival prompted The Open's return?

M. James Ward assesses how Palmer's record setting win at Troon in 1962 set in motion the ascension of golf's oldest major event.
TROON, SCOTLAND - AUGUST 17: A general view of the par 3, eighth hole Postage Stamp at Royal Troon on 2024 in Troon, Scotland.

Proper postage preferred

M. James Ward reviews the tantalizing terror of Troon's famous short hole and the pressures facing those competing to capture the famed Claret Jug.
FedEx Cup Standings

FedEx Cup Standings 28/2024

Week 28 - 14/07/2024
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram