Sony Open in Hawaii R1

Home > Viktor Hovland > Sony Open in Hawaii R1
Defending champion Kevin Na takes opening lead in Hawaii
Posted on
January 14, 2022
The Editorial Team in ,
Estimated reading time: 4 minutes

Sony Open 2022 R1
January 13-16
Waialae Country Club, Honolulu, Hawaii
Round 2, Round 3, Round 4

Estimated reading time: 5 minutes

Kevin Na tied his career-low 9-under 61 to take the opening lead of the Sony Open in Hawaii on Thursday.

Sony Open 2022 R1

He made the turn in 29 following four birdies and an eagle at the par-5 9th and was on course for a sub-60 round but while he stayed bogey-free he only made three more birdies on the back nine.

"I played unbelievably well. I did everything well today and my iron play was amazing. My distance control has been great."

Sony Open 2022 R1

"You know, for playing a brand new ball, I'm doing pretty well controlling my distance. And I tell you what, I had a chance for a 59. I gave it all I could. I'm a little disappointed my putts didn't fall, some of the good putts that I hit didn't fall.

"But it's still a good round."

Sony Open 2022 R1

Jim Furyk is tied in second place one shot behind after three consecutive birdies from the 14th followed by an ace at the par-3 17th. Tied alongside him is a bogey-free Russell Henley and ahead of five players tied in fourth at 7-under.

Sony Open 2022 R1

Pos.PlayerTo ParR1
1Kevin Na-961
T2Jim Furyk-862
T2Russell Henley-862
T4Kevin Chappell-763
T4Patton Kizzire-763
T4Michael Thompson-763
T4Seamus Power-763
T4Haotong Li-763

Sony Open 2022 R1

T9Tyler Duncan-664
T9J.T. Poston-664
T9Ryan Palmer-664
T9Matt Kuchar-664
T9Corey Conners-664
T9Jason Kokrak-664
T9Adam Svensson-664
T16Vaughn Taylor-565
T16Maverick McNealy-565
T16Billy Horschel-565
T16Sahith Theegala-565
T16Andy Ogletree-565
T16Christiaan Bezuidenhout-565
T16Davis Riley-565
T16Dylan Wu-565
T24Kramer Hickok-466
T24Tom Hoge-466
T24Sepp Straka-466
T24Brandt Snedeker-466
T24Abraham Ancer-466
T24Harris English-466
T24Hideki Matsuyama-466
T24Erik van Rooyen-466
T24Takumi Kanaya-466
T24Paul Barjon-466
T24Stephan Jaeger-466
T24Kyle Stanley-466
T24Chris Kirk-466
T24Cam Davis-466
T24Kevin Tway-466
T24Vince Whaley-466
T40Brian Harman-367
T40Cameron Percy-367
T40Russell Knox-367
T40Brendon Todd-367
T40Keith Mitchell-367
T40Wesley Bryan-367
T40Webb Simpson-367
T40Bo Van Pelt-367
T40Aaron Rai-367
T40Chad Ramey-367
T40Trey Mullinax-367
T40Alex Smalley-367
T40Beau Hossler-367
T40Lucas Glover-367
T40Marc Leishman-367
T40Robert Streb-367
T40Cameron Smith-367
T40Talor Gooch-367
T40Greyson Sigg-367
T40Keita Nakajima (a)-367
T40Hayden Buckley-367
T40Justin Lower-367
T62Sam Ryder-268
T62Andrew Putnam-268
T62Hudson Swafford-268
T62Martin Trainer-268
T62Si Woo Kim-268
T62Kevin Kisner-268
T62Richy Werenski-268
T62David Lipsky-268
T62Callum Tarren-268
T62Brandon Wu-268
T62Luke Donald-268
T62Stewart Cink-268
T62Henrik Norlander-268
T62Jim Knous-268
T62Brett Drewitt-268
T62Joseph Bramlett-268
T62Ben Kohles-268
T62Seth Reeves-268
T62Garrett Okamura-268
T81Brendan Steele-169
T81Harry Higgs-169
T81Keegan Bradley-169
T81Brian Gay-169
T81K.H. Lee-169
T81Kelly Kraft-169
T81Jerry Kelly-169
T81Chesson Hadley-169
T81J.J. Spaun-169
T81Bill Haas-169
T81Rory Sabbatini-169
T81Joel Dahmen-169
T81Charles Howell III-169
T81Jimmy Walker-169
T81Sung Kang-169
T81William McGirt-169
T81Emiliano Grillo-169
T81Kurt Kitayama-169
T81Lee Hodges-169
T100Hank LebiodaE70
T100Brian StuardE70
T100Branden GraceE70
T100Adam LongE70
T100Adam SchenkE70
T100Austin SmothermanE70
T100Nick HardyE70
T100Dawie van der WaltE70
T100Kevin CarllE70
T100Scott GutschewskiE70
T100Mark HubbardE70
T100Ryan MooreE70
T100Nate LashleyE70
T100Graeme McDowellE70
T100Matt JonesE70
T100Chan KimE70
T100Rikuya HoshinoE70
T100Brent GrantE70
T100Chase SeiffertE70
T119Denny McCarthy171
T119Roger Sloan171
T119Parker McLachlin171
T119Cameron Young171
T119Taylor Pendrith171
T119Jared Wolfe171
T119Ryan Armour171
T119John Huh171
T119Satoshi Kodaira171
T119Austin Cook171
T119Sungjae Im171
T119Bo Hoag171
T119BJ Doucett171
T132Michael Gligic272
T132Peter Jung (a)272
T132Koichiro Ishika272
T132Camilo Villegas272
T132Zach Johnson272
T132David Skinns272
T132Curtis Thompson272
T132Andrew Novak272
T140Jim Herman373
T140Jared Sawada373
T140Peter Malnati373
143Max McGreevy474
WDJoshua CreelE72
The Editorial Team Avatar

About The Editorial Team

The editorial team at Golf Today strives to provide readers with captivating content that celebrates the rich heritage and exciting developments in the world of golf. Their collective expertise and dedication ensure that Golf Today remains a premier destination for golf enthusiasts seeking the latest news, insightful analysis, and engaging stories from the world of golf.

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Read Next

Cognizant Classic Golf

Rory McIlroy three strokes off the pace in Florida

Bud Cauley leads the way on 11 under par, with fellow American Austin Eckroat and South Africa’s Garrick Higgo one shot behind.
Cognizant Classic Golf

Rory McIlroy makes solid start on ‘benign’ opening day at PGA National

McIlroy is three shots off the opening-round pace set by Chad Ramey and SH Kim.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram