The American Express R1

Cantlay and Hodges leading by two shots

American Express 2022 R1
January 20-23
Pete Dye Stadium Course, La Quinta, California
Round 2, Round 3, Round 4

Estimated reading time: 6 minutes

Americans Patrick Cantlay and Lee Hodges opened with bogey-free 10-under 62s to take the lead in The American Express.

American Express 2022 R1

“I got off to a roll at the start and kind of made a bunch of putts and then I kind of lagged on the way coming in,” said Cantlay. “But I was happy with everything, I thought I did everything well and it’s a golf course I really like, it’s in perfect shape and so if you get the ball rolling on line it should go in.

“I just tried to keep making as many birdies as I could and like I said I stalled out a little bit. This golf course definitely every hole is a birdie hole, especially if you drive it in the fairway and like I said it’s in such good shape that if you start to read the greens really well it’s easy to make a bunch.”

American Express 2022 R1

Cantlay won in his final two starts in 2021 inclding the Tour Championship while Hodges is in his rookie year.

” I played nice today, really putted well,” said Hodges. “Kind of changed a little mindset I guess going into today, I guess I was — it’s tough being on the PGA TOUR sometimes as a rookie, you know, you expect a lot and get a little sometimes.

“So today I just really tried to go out and have a good time and enjoy myself and know how blessed I am to be out here.”

American Express 2022 R1

American Express 2022 R1

South Korean K.H. Lee and American Cameron Young are tied in third place at 8-under followed by eight players in fifth place at 7-under.

American Express 2022 R1

Read next

Tiger’s task

19th Hole
By GT Editor

American Express 2022 R1

Pos.PlayerTo ParR1
T1Lee Hodges (LQ)-1062
T1Patrick Cantlay (LQ)-1062
T3K.H. Lee (SC)-864
T3Cameron Young (LQ)-864
T5Joseph Bramlett (SC)-765
T5Sam Ryder (SC)-765
T5Brandt Snedeker (LQ)-765
T5Danny Lee (NT)-765
T5Tom Hoge (NT)-765
T5Wyndham Clark (LQ)-765
T5Seamus Power (NT)-765
T5Greyson Sigg (NT)-765
T13Jon Rahm (LQ)-666
T13Graeme McDowell (LQ)-666
T13Taylor Moore (LQ)-666
T13Roger Sloan (SC)-666
T13Bronson Burgoon (NT)-666
T13Christiaan Bezuidenhout (LQ)-666
T13Paul Barjon (LQ)-666
T13Harry Higgs (LQ)-666
T13Martin Trainer (SC)-666
T13Lucas Glover (LQ)-666
T13Davis Riley (LQ)-666
T24Doug Ghim (NT)-567
T24Jason Day (NT)-567
T24Francesco Molinari (LQ)-567
T24Alex Smalley (LQ)-567
T24Denny McCarthy (NT)-567
T24Patton Kizzire (SC)-567
T24Zach Johnson (LQ)-567
T24Brett Drewitt (NT)-567
T24David Lipsky (NT)-567
T24Brian Harman (NT)-567
T24Lanto Griffin (NT)-567
T24Sepp Straka (SC)-567
T24Russell Henley (NT)-567
T24Kevin Chappell (LQ)-567
T24Abraham Ancer (NT)-567
T24Aaron Rai (LQ)-567
T40Adam Long (LQ)-468
T40Adam Hadwin (LQ)-468
T40Wesley Bryan (SC)-468
T40Justin Rose (NT)-468
T40Hank Lebioda (NT)-468
T40Harold Varner III (LQ)-468
T40Seung-Yul Noh (SC)-468
T40Brice Garnett (NT)-468
T40Si Woo Kim (LQ)-468
T40Michael Gligic (NT)-468
T40C.T. Pan (NT)-468
T40Nick Hardy (SC)-468
T52Chris Stroud (SC)-369
T52Dylan Wu (NT)-369
T52Brian Stuard (NT)-369
T52Nick Taylor (NT)-369
T52J.T. Poston (NT)-369
T52Andrew Novak (SC)-369
T52Curtis Thompson (NT)-369
T52Stephen Stallings Jr. (NT)-369
T52Pat Perez (LQ)-369
T52Camilo Villegas (NT)-369
T52Jonathan Byrd (LQ)-369
T52Charles Howell III (SC)-369
T52Matthew NeSmith (SC)-369
T52Callum Tarren (SC)-369
T52Brendan Steele (NT)-369
T52Adam Svensson (LQ)-369
T52Henrik Norlander (SC)-369
T52Anirban Lahiri (LQ)-369
T52Tyler Duncan (SC)-369
T52Sungjae Im (NT)-369
T52Scottie Scheffler (LQ)-369
T73Patrick Rodgers (SC)-270
T73Alex Noren (LQ)-270
T73Brandon Wu (SC)-270
T73Jared Wolfe (SC)-270
T73Hayden Buckley (NT)-270
T73John Pak (LQ)-270
T73Jason Dufner (SC)-270
T73Robert Streb (SC)-270
T73Andrew Putnam (NT)-270
T73Vince Whaley (LQ)-270
T73Trey Mullinax (LQ)-270
T73Scott Piercy (LQ)-270
T73Brandon Hagy (SC)-270
T73Kevin Tway (NT)-270
T73Hudson Swafford (LQ)-270
T73Luke List (NT)-270
T73Chan Kim (LQ)-270
T73Ben Kohles (LQ)-270
T73James Hahn (SC)-270
T73Chesson Hadley (SC)-270
T73Ryan Moore (NT)-270
T73Russell Knox (LQ)-270
T73Luke Donald (NT)-270
T96Peter Uihlein (SC)-171
T96Emiliano Grillo (NT)-171
T96Brendon Todd (SC)-171
T96Sung Kang (NT)-171
T96Taylor Pendrith (NT)-171
T96Will Zalatoris (LQ)-171
T96Kelly Kraft (SC)-171
T96Peter Malnati (NT)-171
T96Patrick Reed (LQ)-171
T96David Skinns (SC)-171
T96Scott Gutschewski (NT)-171
T96Doc Redman (NT)-171
T96Chris Kirk (NT)-171
T96Mark Wilson (LQ)-171
T110Jhonattan Vegas (NT)Par72
T110Tony Finau (LQ)Par72
T110Nick Watney (LQ)Par72
T110John Huh (NT)Par72
T110Adam Schenk (NT)Par72
T110Sahith Theegala (LQ)Par72
T110Kramer Hickok (SC)Par72
T110Chez Reavie (LQ)Par72
T110Gary Woodland (SC)Par72
T119Kevin Streelman (LQ)+173
T119Jimmy Walker (SC)+173
T119Dylan Frittelli (NT)+173
T119Rickie Fowler (LQ)+173
T119Rory Sabbatini (LQ)+173
T119Andrew Landry (SC)+173
T119Troy Merritt (SC)+173
T119Bill Haas (LQ)+173
T119Cameron Champ (LQ)+173
T119Kyle Mendoza (SC)+173
T129Jonas Blixt (SC)+274
T129Richy Werenski (NT)+274
T129Carlos Ortiz (LQ)+274
T129Brian Gay (SC)+274
T129Seth Reeves (SC)+274
T129Justin Lower (SC)+274
T129Scott Stallings (SC)+274
T129Jim Herman (SC)+274
T129Cameron Tringale (LQ)+274
T129Max McGreevy (SC)+274
T129Kurt Kitayama (SC)+274
T129Joshua Creel (NT)+274
T129T.J. Vogel (NT)+274
T129Chad Ramey (NT)+274
T143J.J. Spaun (NT)++375
T143Davis Love III (SC)+375
T143Dawie van der Walt (NT)+375
T143Tyler McCumber (SC)+375
T143Talor Gooch (SC)+375
T143Corey Conners (NT)+375
T143Sebastián Muñoz (LQ)+375
T150Austin Smotherman (SC)+476
T150James Hart du Preez (SC)+476
T152Nate Lashley (SC)+577
T152Michael Thompson (SC)+577
T154Phil Mickelson (LQ)+678
T154Austin Cook (SC)+678
T154Matthew Wolff (SC)+678
Share this article