Fortinet Championship R1

Home > News > The Tours > Fortinet Championship R1
Justin Lower takes 2-shot lead with career-low score
Posted on
September 16, 2022
The Editorial Team in ,
Estimated reading time: 2 minutes

Justin Lower fired a career-low 9-under, bogey-free 63 to take a two-hot lead at the Fortinet Championship.

"I'll take it. I birdied half the holes, so that's always a good start, I guess. I'm honestly just happy to be in the position I am having I guess full status for once. I actually get to play events I wanted to play this fall. Last fall I only got three starts, so looking to get off to a better start this fall for sure," said the American.

"I left this course last year kind of in shock, honestly. I was like, God, if this is how the Tour is, I need to get a lot better very quickly.

"Yeah, I feel a lot more confident than I did at this point last year just being the last card last year and then being where I am this year, I feel a lot more confident with my game and a lot more comfortable, for sure."

Max Homa, who finished just before play was suspended due to darkness, fired a bogey-free 65 to take second place at 7-under.

Fellow American J.J. Spaun carded a bogey-free 66 for a share of third place at 6-under alongside South Koreans Byeong Hun An and S.H. Kim.

American Rickie Fowler started his 15th professional season with new clubs, coach and caddie and closed with a bogey-free 67 for a share of sixth place at 5-under.

"I always like it when there’s a bogey-free round in there,” said Fowler. “For the most part, there wasn’t an issue today other than having to make a 15-footer when I hit it into the bunker. Other than that, it was a fairly simple day.”

Play was suspended for 90 minutes in the morning due to fog and as a result 35 players were still on the course when darkness halted play and will resume their rounds Friday at 7:20 a.m.

Pos.PlayerTo ParThruR1
1Justin Lower
2Max Homa-7F65
T3Byeong Hun An-6F66
T3S.H. Kim-6F66
T3J.J. Spaun-6F66
T6Greyson Sigg-5F67
T6Nick Taylor-5F67
T6Rickie Fowler-5F67
T6Sahith Theegala-5F67
T6Emiliano Grillo-5F67
T6Scott Harrington-5F67
T6Matti Schmid-5F67
T6Sung Kang-5F67
T6Brice Garnett-5F67
T6Robby Shelton-513-
T16Adam Svensson-4F68
T16Matt Kuchar-4F68
T16Taylor Montgomery-4F68
T16Joseph Bramlett-4F68
T16Taylor Moore-4F68
T16Brian Stuard-4F68
T16Kevin Streelman-4F68
T16Sam Ryder-4F68
T24Stephan Jaeger-3F69
T24Chris Stroud-3F69
T24David Lipsky-3F69
T24Hideki Matsuyama-3F69
T24Tyson Alexander-3F69
T24Sam Stevens-3F69
T24Ben Taylor-3F69
T24Adam Schenk-3F69
T24Tom Hoge-3F69
T24Brandon Hagy-3F69
T24Danny Willett-316-
T35Lee Hodges-2F70
T35Mark Hubbard-2F70
T35Chad Ramey-2F70
T35Brandt Snedeker-2F70
T35Corey Conners-2F70
T35Tyler Duncan-2F70
T35Matthias Schwab-2F70
T35Matt Wallace-2F70
T35Alex Smalley-2F70
T35Mackenzie Hughes-2F70
T35Hayden Buckley-2F70
T35Vincent Norrman-2F70
T35John Augenstein-2F70
T35Beau Hossler-2F70
T35C.T. Pan-2F70
T35Webb Simpson-2F70
T35Gary Woodland-2F70
T35Andrew Landry-2F70
T35Russell Knox-217-
T35Jimmy Walker-216-
T35Zac Blair-216-
T35Austin Eckroat-216-
T35Davis Thompson-215-
T35Will Gordon-215-
T35Trevor Cone-213-
T35Augusto Núñez-213-
T61Kramer Hickok-1F71
T61Doug Ghim-1F71
T61Denny McCarthy-1F71
T61Jim Herman-1F71
T61Robert Streb-1F71
T61Michael Thompson-1F71
T61Ryan Brehm-1F71
T61Richy Werenski-1F71
T61Harris English-1F71
T61Taylor Pendrith-1F71
T61Harry Higgs-1F71
T61Anders Albertson-1F71
T61Nico Echavarria-1F71
T61Austin Smotherman-1F71
T61Martin Laird-1F71
T61Brendon Todd-1F71
T61Cameron Champ-1F71
T61James Hahn-1F71
T61Chesson Hadley-1F71
T61Troy Merritt-1F71
T61Nate Lashley-117-
T61Ben Martin-116-
T61Seung-Yul Noh-116-
T61Kevin Yu-115-
T61Philip Knowles-114-
T86Kevin ChappellParF72
T86Wyndham ClarkParF72
T86Alex NorenParF72
T86Joel DahmenParF72
T86Danny LeeParF72
T86Jason DufnerParF72
T86Harrison EndycottParF72
T86Carson YoungParF72
T86Andrew PutnamParF72
T86Nick HardyPar16-
T86Ben GriffinPar16-
T86Trevor WerbyloPar15-
T86Jacob BridgemanPar13-
T86Thomas DetryPar13-
T86Zecheng DouPar13-
T86Chris GotterupPar13-
T102Vince Whaley+1F73
T102Scott Piercy+1F73
T102Aaron Baddeley+1F73
T102Brandon Wu+1F73
T102Paul Haley II+1F73
T102Harry Hall+1F73
T102Eric Cole+1F73
T102Nick Watney+1F73
T102Chez Reavie+1F73
T102Callum Tarren+1F73
T102Peter Malnati+116-
T102Brent Grant+116-
T102MJ Daffue+114-
T115Matthew NeSmith+2F74
T115Luke List+2F74
T115Stewart Cink+2F74
T115Cam Davis+2F74
T115Kevin Tway+2F74
T115John Huh+2F74
T115Cameron Percy+2F74
T115Chris Kirk+2F74
T115Jason Day+2F74
T115Trey Mullinax+2F74
T115Lucas Glover+2F74
T115Charley Hoffman+2F74
T115Justin Suh+216-
T115Carl Yuan+216-
T115Dylan Wu+214-
T115Tano Goya+214-
T131Dylan Frittelli+3F75
T131Max McGreevy+3F75
T131Patton Kizzire+3F75
T131David Lingmerth+3F75
T131Maverick McNealy+3F75
T131Erik Barnes+3F75
T131Ryan Armour+3F75
T131Henrik Norlander+3F75
T131Kelly Kraft+3F75
T131Garrick Higgo+3F75
T131Michael Kim+3F75
T131Austin Cook+317-
T131Doc Redman+316-
T131Michael Gligic+315-
T131Kyle Westmoreland+313-
146Kevin Roy+4F76
T147Patrick Rodgers+5F77
T147Brendan Steele+5F77
T147Alex Lee+5F77
T147Ryan Moore+5F77
T151Davis Riley+6F78
T151Kyle Stanley+6F78
T151Adam Long+6F78
154Scott de Borba+713-
155Taylor Lowe+815-
W/DBrandon Matthews--35
The Editorial Team Avatar

About The Editorial Team

The editorial team at Golf Today strives to provide readers with captivating content that celebrates the rich heritage and exciting developments in the world of golf. Their collective expertise and dedication ensure that Golf Today remains a premier destination for golf enthusiasts seeking the latest news, insightful analysis, and engaging stories from the world of golf.

Fortinet Championship 2022

Date: September 15th - 18th 2022

Location: Silverado Resort and Spa (North Course), Napa, California

Purse: $8,000,000

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Read Next

Arnold Palmer

How Arnie's arrival prompted The Open's return?

M. James Ward assesses how Palmer's record setting win at Troon in 1962 set in motion the ascension of golf's oldest major event.
TROON, SCOTLAND - AUGUST 17: A general view of the par 3, eighth hole Postage Stamp at Royal Troon on 2024 in Troon, Scotland.

Proper postage preferred

M. James Ward reviews the tantalizing terror of Troon's famous short hole and the pressures facing those competing to capture the famed Claret Jug.
FedEx Cup Standings

FedEx Cup Standings 28/2024

Week 28 - 14/07/2024
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram