Grayson Murray wins second PGA TOUR title in playoff

Home > Tours > PGA Tour > Grayson Murray wins second PGA TOUR title in playoff
Sony Open in Hawaii R4
Posted on
January 15, 2024
The Editorial Team in ,
Estimated reading time: 2 minutes

Grayson Murray birdied the final hole at the Sony Open to close with a 67 and join Korean Byeong Hun An (64) and fellow American Keegan Bradley (67) at 17-under.

Murray made a 38-foot, 7-inch birdie putt at the first extra hole to win his second PGA TOUR title 6 years, 5 months and 22 days after his first at the 2017 Barbasol Championship in his 129th start at the age of 30 years, 3 months and 13 days.

He moves to No. 1 in the Aon Swing 5 standings and secured a spot in the seven remaining Signature Events in 2024. Other exemptions in 2024 include THE PLAYERS Championship, Masters Tournament and PGA Championship.

Murray is also fully exempt on TOUR through the 2026 season. He finished No. 7 in the Korn Ferry Tour Points List in 2023 to improve his PGA TOUR status for 2024.

China's Carl Yuan and American Russell Henley both closed with 63s featuring an eagle at the par-5 9th to tie for fourth place at 16-under.

J.T. Poston carded a final-round 61, the lowest score of his PGA TOUR career to finish sixth at 15-under. He had previously shot 62 four times, most recently in round 1 at the 2022 John Deere Classic.


Aon Swing

The Sony Open in Hawaii, the second event of the 2024 PGA TOUR Season and first Full-Field Event, was the first opportunity for players to earn FedExCup points towards the Aon Swing 5.

The Aon Next 10 and Aon Swing 5 are eligibility pathways for players, not already qualified, to play their way into Signature Events via the FedExCup standings.

The top five players not otherwise exempt who earn the most FedExCup points during the Sony Open in Hawaii, The American Express and Farmers Insurance Open will qualify for the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am, while the top five players not otherwise exempt who earn the most FedExCup points during those three events and the WM Phoenix Open, will qualify for The Genesis Invitational.

The Aon Next 10 for the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am and The Genesis Invitational was determined through the FedExCup Fall standings.

Pos.PlayerTo ParR1R2R3R4Total
1Grayson Murray-1769636467263
T2Byeong Hun An-1767646864263
T2Keegan Bradley-1767666367263
T4Carl Yuan-1666657063264
T4Russell Henley-1669666663264
6J.T. Poston-1570666861265
T7Nick Taylor-1469676565266
T7Emiliano Grillo-1471666366266
T7Matthieu Pavon-1466666767266
T10Andrew Putnam-1368657064267
T10Harris English-1366677064267
T10Taylor Pendrith-1369676665267
T13Eric Cole-1266726466268
T13Tyrrell Hatton-1270656766268
T13Taylor Montgomery-1264686967268
T13Akshay Bhatia-1269646867268
T13Patton Kizzire-1268656867268
T18Billy Horschel-1168686865269
T18Brian Harman-1169686567269
T18Brandon Wu-1168706467269
T18Stephan Jaeger-1165676968269
T18Chris Kirk-1166666770269
T18Ben Silverman-1167686470269
T24Patrick Rodgers-1070666866270
T24Denny McCarthy-1068706666270
T24Stewart Cink-1067656969270
T24Troy Merritt-1068666670270
T24Kurt Kitayama-1070626870270
T24Sam Stevens-1067676373270
T30K.H. Lee-969686668271
T30Keith Mitchell-968647267271
T30Brendon Todd-966696868271
T30Zac Blair-970656868271
T30Ryo Hisatsune-969686668271
T30Ludvig Åberg-970657066271
T30Hideki Matsuyama-970686766271
T30Ben Griffin-970627069271
T30Cam Davis-962707069271
T30Adam Svensson-971676469271
T30S.H. Kim-971646670271
T30Taiga Semikawa-968656672271
T42Michael Kim-869696668272
T42Will Gordon-869676967272
T42Si Woo Kim-869667067272
T42Nick Hardy-869696767272
T42Dylan Wu-867697066272
T42Harry Hall-868687066272
T42Alex Noren-866696770272
T42Charley Hoffman-870677065272
T42Scott Stallings-866707264272
T42Austin Eckroat-865666972272
T52Erik van Rooyen-769676869273
T52Matt Wallace-767676970273
T52Joseph Bramlett-769656970273
T52Ben Kohles-766697167273
T52Robert MacIntyre-771666967273
T57Aaron Rai-665697070274
T57Justin Rose-667706770274
T57Corey Conners-670686670274
T57Chandler Phillips-670667068274
T57Maverick McNealy-668696968274
T57Mark Hubbard-670677067274
T57Davis Thompson-673656967274
T57Robby Shelton-669677266274
65Tyler Duncan-568706968275
T66Nico Echavarria-468686872276
T66Greyson Sigg-467697169276
T66Luke List-467687269276
T66Webb Simpson-465707269276
T70Jake Knapp-369657271277
T70Alejandro Tosti-366707764277
T72Joel Dahmen-271676872278
T72Lanto Griffin-270687070278
T74Parker Coody-168706873279
T74Seamus Power-172666972279
T74Justin Lower-170687071279
T74Martin Trainer-171677170279
T74Yuto Katsuragawa-168687667279
79Norman XiongPar66717271280
T80Matt NeSmith+269697173282
T80Garrick Higgo+272667668282
CUTBen Martin-17069--139
CUTC.T. Pan-17267--139
CUTTom Hoge-17267--139
CUTAdam Hadwin-16772--139
CUTSahith Theegala-17267--139
CUTLucas Glover-17168--139
CUTChan Kim-17564--139
CUTJacob Bridgeman-17267--139
CUTCameron Champ-16871--139
CUTChad Ramey-17069--139
CUTRyan Palmer-17366--139
CUTCarson Young-16970--139
CUTKevin Yu-16871--139
CUTRyan Moore-17168--139
CUTAlex Smalley-17069--139
CUTKensei Hirata-17069--139
CUTChez ReaviePar7466--140
CUTJustin SuhPar7367--140
CUTJosh TeaterPar7268--140
CUTPierceson CoodyPar7367--140
CUTMax GreysermanPar7070--140
CUTTakumi KanayaPar7466--140
CUTJimmy StangerPar7268--140
CUTKevin StreelmanPar7070--140
CUTZach JohnsonPar6872--140
CUTMatt FitzpatrickPar6971--140
CUTJhonattan VegasPar6971--140
CUTMatti SchmidPar7268--140
CUTDoug GhimPar7268--140
CUTNate Lashley+17170--141
CUTMatt Kuchar+16873--141
CUTDavid Lingmerth+17071--141
CUTCallum Tarren+16972--141
CUTJ.J. Spaun+17170--141
CUTPeter Malnati+17170--141
CUTDavid Skinns+17170--141
CUTHayden Buckley+27270--142
CUTCamilo Villegas+27270--142
CUTAndrew Novak+27270--142
CUTTyler McCumber+27072--142
CUTGary Woodland+27171--142
CUTBen Taylor+37271--143
CUTMartin Laird+37568--143
CUTVince Whaley+37667--143
CUTAlexander Björk+37271--143
CUTAguri Iwasaki+37370--143
CUTRico Hoey+37172--143
CUTBrandt Snedeker+47173--144
CUTRintaro Nakano(a)+47371--144
CUTPaul Barjon+47371--144
CUTWill Zalatoris+57669--145
CUTRobert Streb+57075--145
CUTSami Valimaki+57471--145
CUTDavid Lipsky+67175--146
CUTKevin Kisner+67571--146
CUTDavis Riley+77671--147
CUTVincent Norrman+77572--147
CUTRyan Brehm+77869--147
CUTBlaze Akana(a)+107971--150
CUTAdrien Dumont de Chassart+107773--150
CUTJoe Highsmith+127577--152
CUTHunter Larson+278879--167
W/DTyson Alexander-706672-208
The Editorial Team Avatar

About The Editorial Team

The editorial team at Golf Today strives to provide readers with captivating content that celebrates the rich heritage and exciting developments in the world of golf. Their collective expertise and dedication ensure that Golf Today remains a premier destination for golf enthusiasts seeking the latest news, insightful analysis, and engaging stories from the world of golf.

Updated: ago Related content: , , , ,

Read Next

Wishing Woods Well

Tiger's walk-off at Riviera shows he can no longer compete at the elite level.
PGA goes full LIV…Tiger far from out of the woods

PGA goes full LIV…Tiger far from out of the woods

Sundays, of whatever colour, are sadly not Tiger’s thing these days.
Genesis Invitational 2024 R4 - Hideki Matsuyama

Hideki Matsuyama wins Genesis Invitational title after stunning final round

Japan’s Matsuyama carded nine birdies at Riviera Country Club to finish 17 under par.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram