The RSM Classic R1

Home > Tours > PGA Tour > The RSM Classic R1
Cole Hammer takes opening lead in Georgia
Posted on
November 18, 2022
The Editorial Team in ,
Estimated reading time: 2 minutes

Cole Hammer shot an opening 8-under 64 on the Plantation course at Sea Island to take a one-shot lead in the RSM Classic.

"I was almost blacked out there for a little bit. It went by in a heartbeat, but at the same time was a long day. It was cold and I had very low expectations. And I'm glad I did because it was a tough day out there, there's no question. I figured if I - par was a good score today and I found myself making putts for birdie early on and then just kind of kept going from there, but what a day.

"I almost made a birdie putt on 18, my ninth hole today, to go 5-under. And then I hit my best drive of the day on No. 1, my 10th hole, and that swing gave me some confidence going into the back nine. I hit a wedge like two feet and knocked that in. Then made a 15-footer on the next hole for birdie, which was a complete bonus. Like I really didn't think I was going to make birdie there, but when putts like that drop, just kind of gives you a little boost.

"It was great going to the next few holes after that. I saw some cameras show up, I knew I was doing something right. Then made another birdie on 4, the par 5. Just kind of went from there. Unfortunately, I had a couple bad swings coming in, but it was a nice par putt on the last.

The American has conditional status on the Korn Ferry Tour and is playing on a sponsor exemption this week. He holds his first career PGA Tour lead after any round in his 15th Tour start.


American Ben Griffin, also playing Plantation, shot a bogey-free 65 to take second place.

England's Callum Tarren and American Beau Hossler(bogey-free), playing the Seaside Course, shot 64s and are tied in third place at 6-under with American Justin Suh (PL), who was named 2022 Korn Ferry Tour Player of the Year earlier this week.

Pos.PlayerTo ParR1
1Cole Hammer (PL)-864
2Ben Griffin (PL)-765
T3Beau Hossler (SS)-664
T3Callum Tarren (SS)-664
T3Justin Suh (PL)-666
T6Stephan Jaeger (PL)-567
T6Brian Harman (PL)-567
T6David Lingmerth (PL)-567
T6Webb Simpson (PL)-567
T6Chris Gotterup (SS)-565
T6Henrik Norlander (PL)-567
T6Alex Smalley (PL)-567
T6Keith Mitchell (PL)-567
T6Russell Knox (PL)-567
T6Andrew Putnam (SS)-565
T6Harry Higgs (PL)-567
T17Denny McCarthy (SS)-466
T17Sahith Theegala (PL)-468
T17Harris English (PL)-468
T17Justin Rose (PL)-468
T17Joseph Bramlett (PL)-468
T17Dean Burmester (SS)-466
T17Greyson Sigg (SS)-466
T17Kevin Streelman (PL)-468
T17Seamus Power (SS)-466
T17Davis Riley (PL)-468
T17Tyson Alexander (PL)-468
T17Spencer Ralston (PL)-468
T29Zac Blair (SS)-367
T29John Huh (PL)-369
T29Taylor Pendrith (PL)-369
T29Aaron Baddeley (PL)-369
T29Francesco Molinari (SS)-367
T29Zach Johnson (PL)-369
T29Patrick Rodgers (PL)-369
T29Cameron Percy (PL)-369
T29Kevin Roy (PL)-369
T29Jacob Bridgeman (PL)-369
T29Patton Kizzire (SS)-367
T29Michael Kim (SS)-367
T29Joel Dahmen (SS)-367
T29J.J. Spaun (SS)-367
T29Hayden Buckley (PL)-369
T29Eric Cole (PL)-369
T29Zecheng Dou (PL)-369
T46Brandon Wu (PL)-270
T46Brice Garnett (SS)-268
T46Nate Lashley (PL)-270
T46Luke List (SS)-268
T46Kevin Kisner (PL)-270
T46Ryan Armour (PL)-270
T46Rory Sabbatini (PL)-270
T46Erik Barnes (PL)-270
T46Carl Yuan (PL)-270
T46Adam Schenk (PL)-270
T46Chris Stroud (PL)-270
T46Martin Trainer (PL)-270
T46Chad Ramey (SS)-268
T46Jason Dufner (PL)-270
T46Robert Streb (SS)-268
T46Seung-Yul Noh (SS)-268
T46Paul Haley II (SS)-268
T46Robby Shelton (SS)-268
T46Dylan Wu (PL)-270
T65Sean O'Hair (SS)-169
T65Austin Cook (PL)-171
T65Sepp Straka (SS)-169
T65Peter Malnati (SS)-169
T65Ben Martin (SS)-169
T65Justin Lower (SS)-169
T65Charley Hoffman (SS)-169
T65Brent Grant (PL)-171
T65Austin Smotherman (PL)-171
T65Will Gordon (SS)-169
T65Taylor Montgomery (SS)-169
T65Augusto Núñez (PL)-171
T65Philip Knowles (PL)-171
T65Vincent Norrman (PL)-171
T65Dylan Frittelli (PL)-171
T65Garrick Higgo (PL)-171
T65Brian Gay (PL)-171
T65Chesson Hadley (SS)-169
T65Chris Kirk (PL)-171
T65Ben Taylor (PL)-171
T65Trevor Cone (SS)-169
T86Kevin Tway (SS)Par70
T86Sam Ryder (PL)Par72
T86Kelly Kraft (PL)Par72
T86Matthew NeSmith (SS)Par70
T86J.T. Poston (SS)Par70
T86Stewart Cink (SS)Par70
T86S.H. Kim (PL)Par72
T86MJ Daffue (SS)Par70
T86Conner Godsey (SS)Par70
T86Sam Stevens (PL)Par72
T86Kyle Westmoreland (PL)Par72
T86Danny Lee (SS)Par70
T86Lee Hodges (PL)Par72
T86Matthias Schwab (PL)Par72
T86Jonathan Byrd (PL)Par72
T86Matt Kuchar (SS)Par70
T86Scott Stallings (SS)Par70
T86Doc Redman (SS)Par70
T86Brandon Matthews (PL)Par72
T86Nick Hardy (PL)Par72
T86Harry Hall (SS)Par70
T86Nico Echavarria (PL)Par72
T108Byeong Hun An (SS)+171
T108Max McGreevy (PL)+173
T108Troy Merritt (SS)+171
T108Wyndham Clark (SS)+171
T108Kevin Chappell (SS)+171
T108Adam Long (SS)+171
T108Bill Haas (PL)+173
T108Tom Hoge (SS)+171
T108Adam Svensson (PL)+173
T108Mackenzie Hughes (SS)+171
T108Palmer Jackson (PL) (a)+173
T108Andrew Novak (SS)+171
T120Sung Kang (SS)+272
T120Matt Wallace (PL)+274
T120Ryan Brehm (SS)+272
T120Cameron Champ (PL)+274
T120Jim Herman (SS)+272
T120Brendon Todd (SS)+272
T120Kevin Yu (SS)+272
T120Matti Schmid (PL)+274
T120Taylor Moore (SS)+272
T120Trevor Werbylo (PL)+274
T130Scott Piercy (SS)+373
T130Nick Watney (SS)+373
T130Bryson Nimmer (SS)+373
T130Scott Harrington (SS)+373
T130Carson Young (SS)+373
T130Andrew Landry (PL)+375
T130Akshay Bhatia (SS)+373
T130Michael Gligic (SS)+373
T138Scott Brown (PL)+476
T138Richy Werenski (SS)+474
T138Michael Thompson (SS)+474
T138Jason Day (SS)+474
T138Brett Drewitt (PL)+476
T138Aaron Rai (SS)+474
T144Camilo Villegas (SS)+575
T144Tyler Duncan (SS)+575
T144Hank Lebioda (SS)+575
T144Davis Thompson (SS)+575
T144Tim Weinhart (SS)+575
T149Vaughn Taylor (PL)+678
T149Harrison Endycott (SS)+676
T149Tano Goya (SS)+676
T149Brian Stuard (SS)+676
W/DDanny Willett-73
W/DTrey Mullinax-75
W/DDavid Lipsky-76
The Editorial Team Avatar

About The Editorial Team

The editorial team at Golf Today strives to provide readers with captivating content that celebrates the rich heritage and exciting developments in the world of golf. Their collective expertise and dedication ensure that Golf Today remains a premier destination for golf enthusiasts seeking the latest news, insightful analysis, and engaging stories from the world of golf.

The RSM Classic 2022

Date: November 17th - 20th 2022

Location: Sea Island Golf Club, St. Simons Island, Georgia

Purse: $8,100,000

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Read Next

Womens PGA Championship Golf

Amy Yang leading at Women’s PGA as Charley Hull's bid falters

Yang has carded just three bogeys in 54 holes as she looks to add a major title to her five LPGA Tour wins.
Cameron Young reacts after making a putt on the 17th green during the third round of the Travelers Championship

Tom Kim still leading at Travelers Championship, Cameron Young hits 59

Young made two eagles and seven birdies at the TPC River Highlands course for the first sub-60 score in nearly four years on the PGA Tour.
Nelly Korda hits on the fifth tee during the second round of the Womens PGA Championship

Nelly Korda crashes out of Women’s PGA Championship after 81

The world number one said there ‘no words’ for how she is playing as Sarah Schmelzel and Amy Yang claimed the halfway lead.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram