Chevron Championship R4

Home > golf coaching > Chevron Championship R4
Jennifer Kupcho wins first major in California
Posted on
April 4, 2022
The Editorial Team in , ,
Estimated reading time: 5 minutes

Chevron Championship 2022 R4

March 31 - April 03
Mission Hills Country Club, Dinah Shore Tournament Course
Rancho Mirage, California
Round 1, Round 2, Round 3

Estimated reading time: 6 minutes

Jennifer Kupcho became the last player to leap into Poppie's Pond on Sunday ending the tournament that started as the Colgate-Dinah Shore Winner's Circle in 1972 and became a major in 1983. The event will move to Houston next year.

Chevron Championship 2022 R4

“It's surreal to be able to say that I was the last person (to win The Chevron Championship) here (at Mission Hills) and first (woman to win) at Augusta. [Augusta National Women's Amateur]. Hopefully that isn't a continuing pattern. We aren't stopping a lot of places soon. So hopefully I just keep playing. But it's really exciting to be able to say that I was the last.”

She started the day with a six-shot lead and signed for a 74 to reach 14-under for a two-shot first win on the LPGA Tour.

Chevron Championship 2022 R4

“I think once I started putting myself in contention and not succeeding, I really worked with my swing coach. He's also really good with the mental game. So just talking to him a lot about what's going through my mind all the time and trying to figure out how to process my way through that.

“Honestly, I think one of the biggest things I've fought over the last year and a half is everyone is out here cheering for Nelly our Lexi or someone else I'm playing with. I don't ever hear, ‘Go, Jennifer,’. That was really special today, to have that. To have my caddie and his friends and all of my friends out here supporting me, it's really special.”

Chevron Championship 2022 R4

Kupcho is the first American winner since Brittany Lincicome in 2015, the seventh player to make the event their first win on Tour and the twentieth to make the championship their first major title.

She is the fourth Rolex First-Time Winner this season following Leona Maguire (LPGA Drive On Championship), Nanna Koerstz Madsen (Honda LPGA Thailand) and Atthaya Thitikul (JTBC Classic presented by Barbasol.

Chevron Championship 2022 R4

Fellow American Jessica Korda, dealing with back problems, closed with a 69 to take second place.

Pia Babnik from Slovenia closed with a 66 marred by a single bogey to take third place at 11-under.

Defending champion Patty Tavatanakit of Thailand carded a 72 for a share of fourth place at 10-under alongside Japan's Hinako Shibuno (66), France's Celine Boutier (67) and America's Lexi Thompson (68).

Chevron Championship 2022 R4

Pos.PlayerTo ParScoresTotal
1Jennifer Kupcho-1466-70-64-74274
2Jessica Korda-1271-69-67-69276
3Pia Babnik-1170-70-71-66277
T4Hinako Shibuno-1069-66-77-66278
T4Celine Boutier-1070-69-72-67278
T4Lexi Thompson-1069-70-71-68278
T4Patty Tavatanakit-1067-69-70-72278
T8Alison Lee-871-70-72-67280
T8Hannah Green-870-72-68-70280
T8Nanna Koerstz Madsen-871-67-72-70280
T8Hyo Joo Kim-870-67-73-70280
12Minjee Lee-766-73-73-69281
T13Georgia Hall-668-71-74-69282
T13Ryann O'Toole-673-69-69-71282
T13Madelene Sagstrom-671-70-70-71282
T13Brooke M. Henderson-672-71-67-72282
T17Nasa Hataoka-571-74-71-67283
T17Danielle Kang-573-71-71-68283
T17Hye-Jin Choi-572-71-72-68283
T17Xiyu Janet Lin-572-72-70-69283
T17Caroline Masson-568-71-73-71283
T17Yuka Saso-575-70-66-72283
T17Atthaya Thitikul-574-68-69-72283
T17Sei Young Kim-570-67-74-72283
T25In Gee Chun-471-71-75-67284
T25Matilda Castren-471-69-75-69284
T25Wichanee Meechai-472-70-71-71284
T25Paula Reto-471-71-71-71284
T25Wei-Ling Hsu-472-69-72-71284
T25Charley Hull-471-71-69-73284
T25Lydia Ko-468-73-70-73284
T25Sarah Schmelzel-469-71-71-73284
T25Gabriela Ruffels-468-71-71-74284
T25Annie Park-469-67-73-75284
T35Marina Alex-370-72-75-68285
T35Inbee Park-375-69-70-71285
T35Pauline Roussin-Bouchard-369-75-70-71285
T35Stephanie Meadow-373-72-67-73285
T39Lizette Salas-274-69-74-69286
T39Leona Maguire-272-69-74-71286
T39Eun-Hee Ji-271-71-72-72286
T39Amy Yang-273-68-73-72286
T39Brittany Altomare-276-68-69-73286
T44Lauren Stephenson-169-75-76-67287
T44Sophia Popov-171-74-72-70287
T44Na Rin An-172-70-75-70287
T44Giulia Molinaro-173-68-76-70287
T44Mel Reid-174-71-70-72287
T44Pornanong Phatlum-171-70-73-73287
T44Moriya Jutanugarn-173-71-69-74287
T44Ayaka Furue-171-71-71-74287
T44Ally Ewing-170-68-75-74287
T53Austin ErnstPar71-73-75-69288
T53Chella ChoiPar73-72-72-71288
T53Pernilla LindbergPar73-71-73-71288
T53Jin Young KoPar74-68-74-72288
T53Albane ValenzuelaPar70-74-71-73288
T53Jasmine SuwannapuraPar71-72-72-73288
T53Lindsey Weaver-WrightPar72-70-73-73288
T53Ariya JutanugarnPar71-72-71-74288
T53Brittany LincicomePar72-69-72-75288
T53Pajaree AnannarukarnPar68-71-73-76288
T63Charlotte Thomas+171-71-77-70289
T63Perrine Delacour+175-69-74-71289
T65Cheyenne Knight+274-71-73-72290
T65Alana Uriell+274-71-72-73290
T65Brooke Seay (a)+272-70-75-73290
T65Jaye Marie Green+270-72-75-73290
T65Anna Nordqvist+268-74-71-77290
70Jodi Ewart Shadoff+371-72-76-72291
T71So Yeon Ryu+476-68-76-72292
T71Aditi Ashok+476-69-74-73292
T71Bronte Law+471-71-76-74292
74Mi Hyang Lee+573-71-75-74293
Bohyun Park (a)CUT77-69146
Kelly TanCUT77-69146
In Kyung KimCUT75-71146
Jeongeun Lee5CUT75-71146
Cydney ClantonCUT73-73146
Isabella Fierro (a)CUT73-73146
Sarah KempCUT73-73146
Min LeeCUT71-75146
A Lim KimCUT70-76146
Jenny ColemanCUT75-72147
Amy OlsonCUT75-72147
Natasha Andrea Oon (a)CUT74-73147
Angel YinCUT74-73147
Yu LiuCUT72-75147
Su OhCUT74-74148
Gaby LopezCUT72-76148
Lilia VuCUT72-76148
Emily Kristine PedersenCUT70-78148
Angela StanfordCUT77-72149
Sung Hyun ParkCUT75-74149
Sakura YokomineCUT75-74149
Stacy LewisCUT73-76149
Gurleen Kaur (a)CUT72-77149
Megan KhangCUT72-77149
Jennifer SongCUT76-74150
Emma TalleyCUT75-75150
Carlota CigandaCUT74-76150
Hee Jeong LimCUT71-79150
Esther HenseleitCUT75-76151
Mirim LeeCUT75-76151
Mina HarigaeCUT74-78152
Maude-Aimee LeblancCUT74-78152
Ashleigh BuhaiCUT73-79152
Christina KimCUT79-74153
Hee Young ParkCUT79-74153
Jeongeun Lee6CUT78-75153
Yealimi NohCUT75-78153
Yaeeun HongCUT79-75154
Janie JacksonCUT76-80156
Allison EmreyCUT77-80157
Jenny ShinDQ73-69
The Editorial Team Avatar

About The Editorial Team

The editorial team at Golf Today strives to provide readers with captivating content that celebrates the rich heritage and exciting developments in the world of golf. Their collective expertise and dedication ensure that Golf Today remains a premier destination for golf enthusiasts seeking the latest news, insightful analysis, and engaging stories from the world of golf.

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Read Next

Investec South African Open Championship 2023 R4

Back-to-back wins for Dean Burmester in South Africa

Investec South African Open Championship R4
Rory McIlroy

Rory McIlroy says rule change ‘will make no difference to the average golfer’

McIlroy and Tiger Woods spoke out in support of the proposal but it was opposed by the PGA Tour.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram