Wire-to-wire victory for Keita Nakajima

Home > Tours > DP World Tour > Wire-to-wire victory for Keita Nakajima
Hero Indian Open R4
Posted on
March 31, 2024
The Editorial Team in ,
Estimated reading time: 2 minutes

Keita Nakajima started the day with a four shot lead at the Hero Indian Open and  reached 17-under to win his maiden DP World Tour title by four shots in spite of closing with a 73 after a round featuring a double bogey at the par-4 14th, four bogeys including three back-to-back from the 16th and five birdies.

"It feels amazing," he said. "I feel like this is the first win of a new professional career. This is my first year playing on the DP World Tour and I'm very proud to have won on the DP World Tour and very honoured to be playing here. I want to try and finish on the top ten on this tour and then go to the PGA TOUR in 2025.

"The win definitely gives me a lot of confidence in myself and I'm hoping now to take what I did this week and turn it into even more wins in the future.

"I was a little nervous and I had a tough back nine but I hit some great shots. Fortunately I had a few strokes in the bank which I can credit back to my strong play on the front nine and the earlier rounds this week, so overall very proud of my performance."

He becomes the fifth Japanese winner in DP World Tour history and the third in just over six months.

India's Veer Ahlawat closed with an eagle for a 71 and tied for second place at 13-under alongside Sweden's Sebastian Söderberg and a bogey-free Johannes Veerman of the United States who both shot 67s.

Malaysia's Gavin Green carded a 64 in spite of two double bogeys at the par-4s 4th and 10th and tied for fifth place at 12-under alongside Italian Matteo Manassero (73) and Frenchmen Romain Langasque (74) and Jeon weon Ko (73).

Pos.PlayerTo ParR1R2R3R4Total
1NAKAJIMA, Keita-1765656873271
2AHLAWAT, Veer-1369666971275
SÖDERBERG, Sebastian-1371677067275
VEERMAN, Johannes-1370657367275
5GREEN, Gavin-1272666474276
LANGASQUE, Romain-1266667074276
MANASSERO, Matteo-1265687073276
KO, Jeong weon-1267676973276
9WINTHER, Jeff-1169687268277
10PAUL, Yannik-1071686871278
11LUITEN, Joost-965697273279
GANDAS, Manu-973657071279
13BAIRSTOW, Sam-866726775280
GIRRBACH, Joel-867707073280
ROTTLUFF, Maximilian-871696971280
JORDAN, Matthew-868697370280
KOCHHAR, Karandeep-868707369280
DE BRUYN, Jannik-867747267280
19HUIZING, Daan-767716974281
ZANOTTI, Fabrizio-767707272281
21SHINKWIN, Callum-672696873282
KINHULT, Marcus-668756772282
SCHNEIDER, Marcel-670727070282
LACROIX, Frederic-672707169282
FORSSTRÖM, Simon-671727267282
26WILSON, Andrew-569716776283
LAPORTA, Francesco-572687271283
SCHWAB, Matthias-570727170283
MOOLMAN, Pieter-570727170283
OTAEGUI, Adrian-567737469283
31SCALISE, Lorenzo-469717074284
GALLETTI, Nicolo-468687474284
NORGAARD, Niklas-472657374284
SHARMA, Shubhankar-470707272284
VAN DRIEL, Darius-471707172284
VAN TONDER, Daniel-471727269284
37PENGE, Marco-368716977285
COUSSAUD, Ugo-372657276285
APHIBARNRAT, Kiradech-371726676285
MORRISON, James-371677374285
SMITH, Jordan-366737373285
STONE, Brandon-371717370285
KOFSTAD, Espen-381627270285
DANTORP, Jens-372707469285
45CANTER, Laurie-272717073286
ENEFER, Will-269707572286
47FERGUSON, Ewen-168727176287
DONALDSON, Jamie-174667473287
BESARD, Matthis-169747272287
MANLEY, Stuart-173687571287
51RAJ, AmanPar68687478288
BEKKER, OliverPar69697377288
HILL, CalumPar71717175288
HELLIGKILDE, MarcusPar69737175288
55COCKERILL, Aaron+172677476289
JARVIS, Casey+169747571289
57KAWAMURA, Masahiro+272697574290
58DEAN, Joe+370727376291
PARRY, John+371727276291
NEMECZ, Lukas+375687474291
MOLINARI, Edoardo+375677673291
SOUTHGATE, Matthew+372697872291
SINGH SANDHU, Jairaj+372707871291
BHULLAR, Gaganjeet+370698072291
65KHAN, Rashid+471697478292
KIEFFER, Maximilian+470727575292
BLOMME, Adam+469737476292
68LEWIS, Tom+571707082293
PORTEOUS, Garrick+573707179293
70ENOCH, Rhys+672677085294
71HIDALGO, Angel+967747581297
W/DMANSELL, Richard+47368--220
73JOSHI, Khalin HPar7173--144
WIESBERGER, BerndPar7173--144
BRUN, JulienPar7371--144
POWER HORAN, ThomasPar7173--144
SMYLIE, ElvisPar7470--144
DAVIDSON, JackPar7470--144
79LAHIRI, Anirban+17768--145
PAVAN, Andrea+17372--145
GOUVEIA, Ricardo+17372--145
BARRON, Haydn+17471--145
JAMIESON, Scott+17570--145
VON DELLINGSHAUSEN, Nicolai+17372--145
85CABRERA BELLO, Rafa+27076--146
KAPUR, Shiv+27472--146
GØTH-RASMUSSEN, Jonathan+27472--146
BINU, Shaurya+27769--146
ARNAUS, Adri+27571--146
FOLLETT-SMITH, Benjamin+26977--146
91GARCIA-HEREDIA, Alfredo+37473--147
BERRY, Joshua+37374--147
HOSSAIN, Jamal+37374--147
FRIEDRICHSEN, Sebastian+37374--147
95MIGLIOZZI, Guido+47177--148
MANE, Udayan+47276--148
BALDWIN, Matthew+47771--148
98NICHOLAS, James+57673--149
GANGJEE, Rahil+57178--149
KOBORI, Kazuma+57871--149
SANDHU, Ajeetesh+57475--149
RUUSKA, Lauri+57376--149
BROHOLT LIND, Søren+57475--149
CHOUHAN, Om Prakash+56881--149
105FITZPATRICK, Alex+66981--150
LAWSON, Deyen+67674--150
JONES, Sam+67674--150
ROHIT, Mr (AM)+67278--150
BLIXT, Jonas+67575--150
111PRATAP SINGH, Karan+77675--151
BAISOYA, Sachin+77477--151
CHEEMA, Angad+77576--151
SETHIE, Harshjeet Singh+77972--151
PRINSLOO, Jaco+77675--151
LOHAN, Abhinav+77477--151
117COLSAERTS, Nicolas+87280--152
SANDHU, Yuvraj+87577--152
PARIKH, Varun+87379--152
WHITNELL, Dale+87874--152
GALLACHER, Stephen+87775--152
THANGARAJA, N+87577--152
123RAVETTO, David+97479--153
SINGH AHLAWAT, Anant (AM)+97776--153
125SINGH, Gaurav Pratap+107480--154
126BISHNOI, Sunhit+117184--155
127CELLI, Filippo+127581--156
128SCHOTT, Freddy+137582--157
129LYRAS, John+148375--158
130FIGUEIREDO, Pedro+167585--160
131KAUL, Kshitij Naveed+208282--164
132YADAV, Sandeep (AM)+238483--167
133ANAND, Vinamra (AM)+308292--174
RETDGARCIA, Sebastian+571---108
RETDFORREST, Grant+1180---119
RETDMOSTERT, Dylan+874---132
RETDMARTIN, Andrew+777---131
RETDCLEMENTS, Todd+472---131
RETDHANNA, Chase+979---136
RETDSCHAPER, Jayden+975---140
RETDHILLIER, Daniel+274---141
RETDSULLIVAN, Andy+373---142
RETDMICHELUZZI, David+575---108
W/DHØJGAARD, Rasmus+779----
The Editorial Team Avatar

About The Editorial Team

The editorial team at Golf Today strives to provide readers with captivating content that celebrates the rich heritage and exciting developments in the world of golf. Their collective expertise and dedication ensure that Golf Today remains a premier destination for golf enthusiasts seeking the latest news, insightful analysis, and engaging stories from the world of golf.

Hero Indian Open 2024

Date: March 28th - 31st 2024

Location: DLF G&CC, New Delhi, India

Purse: $2,250,000

Read Next

Tiger Woods at the Masters

Tiger prowl set for Masters weekend

The 15-time major champion sits seven shots back. M. James Ward reviews his play and what to expect for the final 36 holes.
Masters Golf

Rory McIlroy's bid for the Masters title derailed

McIlroy’s birdie-free second round of 77 took an incredible six hours and two minutes to complete.
Bryson DeChambeau

Bryson DeChambeau takes marshalling duties into his own hands + scores

The American held on to share of the lead alongside Homa & Scheffler on a windswept day at Augusta National.
Tiger Woods not giving up on his dream of a 16th major title

Tiger Woods not giving up on his dream of a 16th major title

Woods is seven shots off the clubhouse lead at Augusta National after making a record 24th consecutive cut.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram