Brice Garnett regains full PGA Tour status with playoff win

Home > Tours > PGA Tour > Brice Garnett regains full PGA Tour status with playoff win
Puerto Rico Open 2024
Posted on
March 11, 2024
The Editorial Team in ,
Estimated reading time: 2 minutes

Brice Garnett shot a bogey-free 69 on Sunday at the Puerto Rico Open to reach 19-under and enter a playoff. He holed a 15-foot birdie putt on the fourth extra hole to win his second PGA Tour title.

"We just, we stuck to our game plan. I was right there around 300 yards to the front of the green every playoff hole and that's just too far for me to try to push a 3-wood up there. So I just continued to lay up to a really good wedge number. I hit some really good wedges in there.

"And then the fourth hole is the exact same putt I had on the first playoff hole, so I knew exactly what the putt did and I just had to hit it a little bit harder the second go-round."

Garnett had previously won at the 2018 Corales Puntacana Championship in the Dominican Republic but fell outside the top-150 last year and had lost full PGA Tour status.

With this win he becomes fully exempt through the 2026 season and earns a spot into this week’s Players as well as the 2024 PGA Championship, 2024 Charles Schwab Challenge and The Sentry in 2025.

"Just an outstanding week from the time I got here. I was excited to be here, I was thankful to be here. I wasn't sure when my next PGA Tour start was going to come and I was kind of gearing up for this one. I think I told you earlier in the week, this is my Augusta. It didn't get me in Augusta. I guess maybe I should put in for a special exemption, but it is a wonderful week for me that opens all kinds of new doors for a 40-year-old Tour vet."

Eric Barnes shot a bogey-free 68 to enter the playoff but missed a 12-foot birdie putt for the win at the first extra hole and another at the fourth to finish second.

France's Victor Perez, the only non-American in the top-5, closed with a 65 for a share of third place at 18-under alongside Hayden Springer (68) and Jimmy Stanger (70).

Overnight leader Ben Kohles failed to make a birdie until the 15th and could have joined the playoff at the 18th but three-putted from 35 feet for bogey and closedwith a 73 to finish tied for sixth at 17-under.

Pos.PlayerTo ParR1R2R3R4Total
1Brice Garnett-1966666869269
2Erik Barnes-1966666968269
T3Victor Perez-1869686865270
T3Hayden Springer-1868656968270
T3Jimmy Stanger-1868656770270
T6Adrien Dumont de Chassart-1773656766271
T6Joe Highsmith-1765657170271
T6Ben Kohles-1769666373271
9Norman Xiong-1665697068272
T10Jackson Van Paris(a)-1570706964273
T10Evan Harmeling-1570696767273
T10Martin Laird-1567687068273
T10Austin Cook-1568716668273
T10Matti Schmid-1567656873273
T15Henrik Norlander-1471686669274
T15Max Greyserman-1465697070274
T15Nico Echavarria-1468676871274
T18Rafael Campos-1365677667275
T18Ryo Hisatsune-1365677469275
T18Richy Werenski-1367716869275
T18Sam Stevens-1369676970275
T18Vince Whaley-1369667070275
T23Mac Meissner-1273657167276
T23Kevin Chappell-1270697067276
T23Aaron Rai-1269697068276
T23Troy Merritt-1268716968276
T23Jacob Bridgeman-1268687169276
T23Michael Kim-1272686769276
T23Aaron Baddeley-1270696770276
T23Cody Gribble-1268667171276
T23Tyler Duncan-1267677072276
T32Zecheng Dou-1170707166277
T32S.Y. Noh-1168727067277
T32Tommy Gainey-1169697069277
T32Fred Biondi-1170687069277
T32Kevin Tway-1171657170277
T32Pierceson Coody-1172676870277
T32Kevin Streelman-1165677471277
T32Garrick Higgo-1166716971277
T32Robert MacIntyre-1170676872277
T32Rico Hoey-1165726773277
T42Ben Silverman-1071677268278
T42Ben Martin-1070697069278
T42Brandon Wu-1071696969278
T42Scott Piercy-1065697371278
T42Harrison Endycott-1069716870278
T42Raul Pereda-1070696871278
T42Patrick Fishburn-1071686871278
T49Taiga Semikawa-967707270279
T49Jim Herman-970707069279
T49Rasmus Højgaard-967707270279
T49Chris Nido-971696970279
T49Harry Hall-969716871279
T49Joel Dahmen-972686871279
T55Ben Griffin-871687170280
T55Roger Sloan-868726971280
T55Ryan Brehm-870696972280
T58Ryan McCormick-768717270281
T58Michael Gligic-771677073281
T58Paul Haley II-772686774281
T61Sean O'Hair-670687272282
T61Sangmoon Bae-668727171282
T61Josh Teater-672687072282
T61Kyle Stanley-672677073282
T61Tom Whitney-667697175282
T61Chan Kim-672686577282
67David Skinns-568727568283
T68Austin Smotherman-469707372284
T68Brian Stuard-468727173284
T68Tyler Collet-471696876284
71Chris Stroud-369697077285
72Angel Ayora-268717572286
CUTRussell Knox-37170--141
CUTJustin Suh-37071--141
CUTCamilo Villegas-37170--141
CUTBrandt Snedeker-37269--141
CUTChris Gotterup-36873--141
CUTHarry Higgs-37170--141
CUTWilliam McGirt-36972--141
CUTPatton Kizzire-37071--141
CUTRobert Streb-37170--141
CUTJustin Hastings(a)-37170--141
CUTTrace Crowe-37071--141
CUTWilson Furr-37071--141
CUTSung Kang-27072--142
CUTAdam Long-27171--142
CUTKevin Kisner-27072--142
CUTRyan Armour-27270--142
CUTJeff Overton-26973--142
CUTRyan Cole-27171--142
CUTJorge Campillo-27666--142
CUTSatoshi Kodaira-26775--142
CUTDaniel Berger-26973--142
CUTTed Potter, Jr.-27270--142
CUTS.H. Kim-27171--142
CUTNate Lashley-27270--142
CUTNicholas Lindheim-27171--142
CUTAlejandro Tosti-27072--142
CUTPaul Barjon-27072--142
CUTBen Crane-17271--143
CUTD.J. Trahan-17271--143
CUTMJ Daffue-17172--143
CUTRicky Barnes-17370--143
CUTKelly Kraft-16875--143
CUTKevin Dougherty-17271--143
CUTYuxin Lin-17370--143
CUTParker Coody-17271--143
CUTJames HahnPar7668--144
CUTDomenico GeminianiPar7371--144
CUTGareth Steyn(a)Par7173--144
CUTBill HaasPar7272--144
CUTScott BrownPar7272--144
CUTMartin TrainerPar7371--144
CUTNick Watney+17174--145
CUTCameron Champ+17372--145
CUTWesley Bryan+17174--145
CUTJulian Perico+17174--145
CUTDerek Ernst+27571--146
CUTGeoff Ogilvy+27175--146
CUTJonathan Byrd+27175--146
CUTAaron Wise+27670--146
CUTScott Gutschewski+37572--147
CUTD.A. Points+37572--147
CUTChandler Phillips+37572--147
CUTGeorge McNeill+47573--148
CUTDerek Lamely+47573--148
CUTEvan Pena(a)+47870--148
CUTBlaine Hale, Jr.+47969--148
CUTAndrew Landry+57376--149
CUTJason Dufner+77675--151
CUTKelvin Hernandez(a)+107480--154
CUTAram Yenidjeian+137978--157
The Editorial Team Avatar

About The Editorial Team

The editorial team at Golf Today strives to provide readers with captivating content that celebrates the rich heritage and exciting developments in the world of golf. Their collective expertise and dedication ensure that Golf Today remains a premier destination for golf enthusiasts seeking the latest news, insightful analysis, and engaging stories from the world of golf.

Updated: ago Related content: , , ,
Puerto Rico Open 2024

Date: March 7th - 10th 2024

Location: Grand Reserve Golf Club, Rio Grande, PUR

Purse: $4,000,000

Read Next

Max Homa watches his tee shot on the 12th hole during the first round of the 88th Masters

Can Homa take it home?

Playing in the final pairing Saturday, Max Homa will be under the brightest of spotlights. M. James Ward outlines the stakes involved.
Tiger Woods at the Masters

Tiger prowl set for Masters weekend

The 15-time major champion sits seven shots back. M. James Ward reviews his play and what to expect for the final 36 holes.
Masters Golf

Rory McIlroy's bid for the Masters title derailed

McIlroy’s birdie-free second round of 77 took an incredible six hours and two minutes to complete.
Bryson DeChambeau

Bryson DeChambeau takes marshalling duties into his own hands + scores

The American held on to share of the lead alongside Homa & Scheffler on a windswept day at Augusta National.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram