Sir Henry Cotton Rookie of the Year

Sir Henry Cotton

Named after triple Open Champion (1934, 1937, 1948) Sir Henry Cotton, this Award is made to the most promising newcomer on the European Tour, and selected by a committee of PGA European Tour, Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St.Andrews and Association of Golf Writers representatives.

Martin Kaymer European rookies who have beome Major Champions
2010 PGA Champion Martin Kaymer (2007 ROTY) is the latest of five award winners to go on to win a major championship after Tony Jacklin, Nick Faldo, Sandy Lyle and J-M Olazábal.
Year Rookie of the Year Country
2012 Ricardo Santos Portugal
2011 Tom Lewis England
2010 Matteo Manassero Italy
2009 Chris Wood England
2008 Pablo Larrazábal Spain
2007 Martin Kaymer Germany
2006 Marc Warren Scotland
2005 Gonzalo Fernández-Castaño Spain
2004 Scott Drummond Scotland
2003 Peter Lawrie Ireland
2002 Nick Dougherty England
2001 Paul Casey England
2000 Ian Poulter England
1999 Sergio Garcia Spain
1998 Olivier Edmond France
1997 Scott Henderson Scotland
1996 Thomas Björn Denmark
1995 Jarmo Sandelin Sweden
1994 Jonathan Lomas England
1993 Gary Orr Scotland
1992 Jim Payne England
1991 Per-Ulrik Johansson Sweden
1990 Russel Claydon England
1989 Paul Broadhurst England
1988 Colin Montgomerie Scotland
1987 Peter Baker England
1986 José Maria Olazábal Spain
1985 Paul Thomas Wales
1984 Philip Parkin Wales
1983 Grant Turner England
1982 Godron Brand Jnr. Scotland
1981 Jeremy Bennet England
1980 Paul Hoad England
1979 Mike Miller Scotland
1978 Sandy Lyle Scotland
1977 Nick Faldo England
1976 Mark James England
1975 No Award  
1974 Carl Mason England
1973 Philip Elson England
1972 Sam Torrance Scotland
1971* David Llewellyn Wales
1970 Stuart Brown England
1969 Peter Oosterhuis England
1968 Bernard Gallacher Scotland
1967 No Award  
1966 Robin Liddle Scotland
1965 No Award  
1964 No Award  
1963 Tony Jacklin England
1962 No Award  
1961 Alex Caygill England
1960 Tommy Goodwin England
* Note: from 1960-71, the award was made by the British Professional Golfers' Association. Upon the founding of the European Tour in 1972, the award changed to its current format.
The Award is usually - but not always - given to the rookie who finishes highest on the European Tour Order of Merit / Race to Dubai.