European Tour - Golfer of the Year

Home > 19th Hole > Golf History > European Tour - Golfer of the Year
Inaugurated in 1985
Posted on
December 18, 2018
The Editorial Team in ,
Estimated reading time: 1 minutes

European Tour - Golfer of the Year

Decided by a judging panel drawn from all sectors of the golfing media - newspapers, magazines, radio and television - the award was inaugurated in 1985.
It should not be confused with the Association of Golf Writers Trophy, inaugurated in 1951.

European Tour - Golfer of the Year

2021Jon RahmESP
2020Lee WestwoodENG
2019Jon RahmESP
2018Francesco MolinariITA
2017Sergio GarcíaESP
2016Henrik Stenson (2)SWE
2015Rory McIlroy (3)NI
2014Rory McIlroy (2)NI
2013Henrik Stenson (1)SWE
2012Rory McIlroy (1)NI
2011Luke DonaldNI
2010Martin Kaymer & Graeme McDowellGER & NI
2009Lee Westwood (3)ENG
2008Pádraig Harrington (2)IRE
2007Pádraig Harrington (1)IRE
2006Paul CaseyENG
2005Michael CampbellNZL
2004Vijay SinghFJI
2003Ernie Els (2)RSA

European Tour - Golfer of the Year

2002Ernie Els (1)RSA
2001Retief GoosenRSA
2000Lee Westwood (2)ENG
1999Colin Montgomerie (4)SCO
1998Lee Westwood (1)ENG
1997Colin Montgomerie (3)SCO
1996Colin Montgomerie (2)SCO
1995Colin Montgomerie (1)SCO
1994Ernie Els (1)RSA
1993Bernhard Langer (2)GER NI
1992Nick Faldo (2)ENG
1991Seve Ballesteros (3)ESP
1990Nick Faldo (2)ENG
1989Nick Faldo (1)ENG
1988Seve Ballesteros (2)ESP
1987Ian WoosnamWAL
1986Seve Ballesteros (1)ESP
1985Bernhard Langer (1)GER

European Tour - Golfer of the Year

The Editorial Team Avatar

About The Editorial Team

The editorial team at Golf Today strives to provide readers with captivating content that celebrates the rich heritage and exciting developments in the world of golf. Their collective expertise and dedication ensure that Golf Today remains a premier destination for golf enthusiasts seeking the latest news, insightful analysis, and engaging stories from the world of golf.

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Read Next

Arnold Palmer

How Arnie's arrival prompted The Open's return?

M. James Ward assesses how Palmer's record setting win at Troon in 1962 set in motion the ascension of golf's oldest major event.
TROON, SCOTLAND - AUGUST 17: A general view of the par 3, eighth hole Postage Stamp at Royal Troon on 2024 in Troon, Scotland.

Proper postage preferred

M. James Ward reviews the tantalizing terror of Troon's famous short hole and the pressures facing those competing to capture the famed Claret Jug.
FedEx Cup Standings

FedEx Cup Standings 28/2024

Week 28 - 14/07/2024
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram