PGA Tour Player of the Year & PGA Player of the Year

Home > 19th Hole > Golf History > PGA Tour Player of the Year & PGA Player of the Year
Players on the PGA Tour compete for two player of the year awards.
Posted on
June 12, 2021
The Editorial Team in ,
Estimated reading time: 2 minutes

PGA Player of the Year

Players on the PGA Tour compete for two player of the year awards.

The PGA Player of the Year award was created in 1948 and is awarded by the PGA of America. Since 1982 the winner has been selected using a points system based on wins, money list position and scoring average.

Introduced in 1990, the PGA Tour Player of the Year award, aka the Jack Nicklaus Trophy, is awarded by the PGA Tour. The winner is selected by tour players by ballot, and details of the results are not released.

YearPGA Player of the YearPGA Tour Player of the Year
Jack Nicklaus Trophy
2021Jon RahmPatrick Cantlay
2020Justin Thomas (2)Dustin Johnson (2)
2019Brooks Koepka (2)Rory McIlroy (3)
2018Brooks KoepkaBrooks Koepka
2017Justin ThomasJustin Thomas
2016Dustin JohnsonDustin Johnson
2015Jordan Spieth[68]Jordan Spieth
2014Rory McIlroy (2)Rory McIlroy (2)
2013Tiger Woods (11)Tiger Woods (11)
2012Rory McIlroyRory McIlroy
2011Luke DonaldLuke Donald
2010Jim FurykJim Furyk
2009Tiger Woods (10)Tiger Woods (10)
2008Pádraig HarringtonPádraig Harrington
2007Tiger Woods (9)Tiger Woods (9)
2006Tiger Woods (8)Tiger Woods (8)
2005Tiger Woods (7)Tiger Woods (7)
2004Vijay SinghVijay Singh
2003Tiger Woods (6)Tiger Woods (6)

YearPGA Player of the YearPGA Tour Player of the Year
Jack Nicklaus Trophy
2002Tiger Woods (5)Tiger Woods (5)
2001Tiger Woods (4)Tiger Woods (4)
2000Tiger Woods (3)Tiger Woods (3)
1999Tiger Woods (2)Tiger Woods (2)
1998Mark O'MearaMark O'Meara
1997Tiger WoodsTiger Woods
1996Tom LehmanTom Lehman
1995Greg NormanGreg Norman
1994Nick Price (2)Nick Price (2)
1993Nick PriceNick Price
1992Fred CouplesFred Couples (2)
1991Corey PavinFred Couples
1990Nick FaldoWayne Levi

YearPGA Player of the Year
1989Tom Kite
1988Curtis Strange
1987Paul Azinger
1986Bob Tway
1985Lanny Wadkins
1984Tom Watson (6)
1983Hal Sutton
1982Tom Watson (5)
1981Bill Rogers
1980Tom Watson (4)
1979Tom Watson (3)
1978Tom Watson (2)
1977Tom Watson
1976Jack Nicklaus (5)
1975Jack Nicklaus (4)
1974Johnny Miller
1973Jack Nicklaus (3)
1972Jack Nicklaus (2)
1971Lee Trevino
1970Billy Casper (2)
1969Orville Moody
1968No award was presented due to rift between PGA of America and professional golfers on the PGA tour
1967Jack Nicklaus
1966Billy Casper
1965Dave Marr
1964Ken Venturi
1963Julius Boros (2)
1962Arnold Palmer (2)
1961Jerry Barber
1960Arnold Palmer
1959Art Wall, Jr.
1958Dow Finsterwald
1957Dick Mayer
1956Jack Burke, Jr.
1955Doug Ford
1954Ed Furgol
1953Ben Hogan (4)
1952Julius Boros
1951Ben Hogan (3)
1950Ben Hogan (2)
1949Sam Snead
1948Ben Hogan
The Editorial Team Avatar

About The Editorial Team

The editorial team at Golf Today strives to provide readers with captivating content that celebrates the rich heritage and exciting developments in the world of golf. Their collective expertise and dedication ensure that Golf Today remains a premier destination for golf enthusiasts seeking the latest news, insightful analysis, and engaging stories from the world of golf.

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Read Next

Scottie Scheffler watches his tee shot at the RBC Heritage golf tournament

Scottie Scheffler leading by five strokes as play suspended at Hilton Head

A storm stopped play for two and a half hours forcing a finish on Monday.
Billy Horschel wins the Corales Puntacana Championship

Billy Horschel wins 8th Tour title

Corales Puntacana Championship R4
Team Europe's Tommy Fleetwood lifts the Ryder Cup Trophy after Europe regained the Ryder Cup following victory over the USA on day three of the 44th Ryder Cup at the Marco Simone Golf and Country Club, Rome.

Remember who the Ryder Cup is between

The Ryder Cup is of fundamental importance to golf in a way no DP World Tour event is.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram